Struggling With Writing Honestly


I’ve been going through a particularly rough patch involving my weight, past eating disorder and the effects all of this is having on my mental health.

The problem is that I really would like to write about it but I don’t know if I could write as honestly as I would need to because I would fear hurting readers who I know struggle with their own weight issues.

I would never ever want to do that but there are aspects of disordered eating that I believe need to be openly discussed. It’s not to say in any way that the thinking is healthy or correct because it is not. And that’s the point. I want to openly talk about my unhealthy thinking but I don’t know how to do that without being hurtful.

I considered making the post password protected but then that closes down the whole open thing doesn’t it?

This issue is why I’ve been so quiet recently. I need to get this out of my head and into words but…how do you say things that are mean and hateful and awful but also honest even as they are completely wrong?

This is my blog but it’s also a place for my readers. I want you to feel welcomed here but isn’t my point to be honest? To tell you how I’m feeling and thinking? To let people know they’re not weird for feeling a certain way? How can I do that if I stay quiet?

Conundrum…

About CimmarianInk

Abuse Survivor Diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder PTSD and Dissociative Identity Disorder (DID) also known as Multiple Personalities
This entry was posted in Child Molestation, dissociative identity disorder, Eating Disorder, Incest, Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, PTSD, self-harm, Self-injury, Sexual Abuse, Trauma and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Struggling With Writing Honestly

  1. strangelings says:

    I think you should write what you need to write- maybe put a warning, but people do chose what they read. (Not that I’m one to talk for writing *sigh*)

  2. Broken Girl says:

    I think if you give a detailed trigger warning at the top of the post you’ll be fine. People can decide whether they want to read it.

  3. cptsd2013 says:

    I agree with the trigger warning. And then maybe a short description after it. ‘Trigger about (not) eating’? something like that?
    I am a person for instance with issue’s with weight, but I am overweight, I follow a blog of someone with anorexia, and I am totally not insulted by her thoughts. I think it’s good for a person like me, to also be able to see how someone like her feels.
    Like it’s very important for us all to be open and most of all, not feel personally attacked.. I won’t at least.
    Besides, I would really want you to open up for you. I’ve wondered about you being so quiet, but since I’m a new follower it didn’t feel in my right place to ask about that.

    • CimmarianInk says:

      Hi cptsd,

      I too have found it helpful to read blogs from people who may not be exactly like me but who still share similar issues.

      I think my biggest concern is that my honesty will be taken as “This is how she really feels” when it’s not actually my core beliefs but a reflection of the mess in my head.

      Thank you for commenting, I needed the feedback. :)

      • cptsd2013 says:

        I understand your worries, but if you state at the top of the post that it’s a relection of the mess in your head and hot your core beliefs, it should be fine. If someone feels hurt they can tell you, you won’t bite
        It would be a pity if we weren’t ‘allowed’ to speak of certain things.

Leave a Reply

