My therapist suggestion


I had my therapy session yesterday and we concluded that a step I need to take is to cut-off contact with the person who caused the DID through the trauma that happened. I’m still trying to agree with her. Not that I disagree but there’s a certain feeling like I have a responsibility to keep in touch or something. My therapist is trying to help me understand that this person is toxic. I know she is absolutely correct. If you want to read a book that might change your life, read “Toxic Parents” by Dr. Susan Forward! Holy crap! When I got this book several years ago, it was like reading my life! I feel like I need to read it again to remind myself why my therapist is so very right. So that’s what I’m going to do. Hopefully it will help me take that step. Dealing with this person literally makes my skin crawl and I feel sick and anxious. My trauma was not sexual in nature but physical and verbal abuse along with significant neglect. Coupled with a horrific event that I won’t get into, this is what has contributed to my mental state as far as the DID and PTSD goes. So, homework assignment: re-read Toxic Parents! Fun, fun!

About CimmarianInk

Abuse Survivor Diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder PTSD and Dissociative Identity Disorder (DID) also known as Multiple Personalities
This entry was posted in bipolar disorder, depersonalization, derealization, DID, dissociation, dissociative fugue, dissociative identity disorder, fibromyalgia, Medication, Meds, Mental Health, Psychiatric Drugs, Psychiatric medication, Social Security Disability, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My therapist suggestion

  1. Pingback: 2010 in review (I’m surprised anybody came at all to be honest) | Living With Bipolar Disorder and DID

Leave a Reply

