Has anyone “come out” as in telling people you have DID?


I’m not remotely considering this but I was curious how many people have told others that they have DID? The book I’m reading now “Amongst Ourselves” has a chapter on this and it made me wonder.

About CimmarianInk

Abuse Survivor Diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder PTSD and Dissociative Identity Disorder (DID) also known as Multiple Personalities
This entry was posted in bipolar disorder, depersonalization, depression, derealization, DID, dissociation, dissociative fugue, dissociative identity disorder, headaches, Medication, Meds, Mental Health, Multiple Personalities, Psychiatric Drugs, Psychiatric medication, Psychiatry, PTSD, Social Security Disability, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Has anyone “come out” as in telling people you have DID?

  1. meredith says:

    Yes. I have come out many times because I thought I needed to explain myself. Sometimes, it was a relief; sometimes, it created more harm than good. I was outed in our community right after my diagnosis… and this was traumatic… but the bell had already been rung, and I had to deal, right away, with reactions I received from friends and strangers, alike. Ideally, I would have preferred having a year under my belt to get square with my diagnosis, starting therapy, etc. Since it didn’t happen that way… well, it took me a long time to take back my life (and my dignity).

    My closest friends were the first to know (I told them), and this was one of the best decisions I made. I told them within the first few months, and they really were my backbone and muscle for the first few years.

    I learned the hard way that I am not obliged to tell anyone anything about my personal life. Period. I didn’t learn this while growing up, so I’ve had a lot of ups and downs while learning when to speak… and when it’s enough to just say, “I’m not quite feeling like myself, right now,” and let that be okay.

    ~meredith~

    • CimmerianInk says:

      I’m so with you about feeling you have to explain yourself! I did tell people about being bipolar at first. Sometimes out of frustration, sometimes out of embarrassment, sometimes to be aggressive like “Deal with that”!
      Now I’m tired of trying to explain my mood swings or why I’m on disability. I am not going to tell anyone who doesn’t absolutely have to know about the DID though. It’s too much trouble and for some reason this feels a lot more private. Plus if I told people here it would back to my abuser (mother) since she lives here and is part of the same community. If she found out she’d say that everything that happened and that I think happened can be explained by my mental illnesses. One of her classic cop-outs: “You’re too sensitive”.

  2. roseroars says:

    When I told my friend she said, “Well that explains a lot!”, and she is very supportive. Hubby found out less than a week ago and he doesn’t think I have DID. Like Meredith said, I’ve learned that my personal life is personal and no one else needs to know unless I feel they do.

    Sometimes I just want to scream it out, though…….

    Lisa

  3. castorgirl says:

    The only people that I’ve told about the DID are a few family members and one person at work. The person at work had already asked me several times if I had DID in a joking way… she’d noticed the sometimes rapid changes we do at work to cope with the students, staff and managers.

    I agree with Meredith, in that I now realise I don’t have to tell everyone about my life. This was a hard lesson. I admire those that can be open about their mental health issues without fear, but that’s not me. I’m not a “loud and proud” sort of person, and probably never will be. Most people at work consider me cagey, I’m ok with this because I’m still approachable.

    Telling people is a huge trust issue. If you can, check it out internally before you tell anyone.

    Take care,
    CG

    • CimmerianInk says:

      Yea I ‘m not a “loud and proud” person either. I have been about being bipolar (up to a point) but people seem more comfortable with that than they would be about this. And actually I feel absoloutly no desire to tell anyone about this. I agree with you guys that some stuff is just personal.

  4. IAmEchad Twitter says:

    Outside of my clinical team, I’ve only told my 2 closest friends. Neither were surprised & one of them said that it explains a lot. That’s about it. When I was inpatient, they suggested to us not 2 let people know. As 4 being told I’m 2 sensitive & having 2 explain myself is something I was taught from childhood. So I completely understant

    • CimmerianInk says:

      Hi thanks for commenting. It’s good your friends took it so well and felt it helped them to understand you.
      I think a lot of people get information about mental illness from movies etc. that it freaks them out if you tell them you have something like DID, which is a shame. I think for now it’ll stay between my husband and I , his parents and sister and my psych team. Oh! And of course the entire internet through this blog lol!

Leave a Reply

