Collage clippings


A brief post. Over time I’ve started collecting magazines so I can clip out things for possible collages. Usually I don’t have any idea what I’m going to clip out or what I’m going to use it for, I kind of let myself go and I cut out whatever feels right and I put it in a shoebox. Later when I feel the need to collage, I go to the box and I look through it and pull out whatever feels right and I put it together. I’m going to collage today before therapy and I opened the box and saw all of these words and pictures I had cut out previously and I didn’t remember them. More disturbing were the things I had cut out. Words. Pictures. Phrases. They were all from normal magazines, fashion, art, exercise, home decorating etc. all benign, and they were all disturbing. wow.

About CimmarianInk

Abuse Survivor Diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder PTSD and Dissociative Identity Disorder (DID) also known as Multiple Personalities
This entry was posted in abuse, Alters, bipolar disorder, Child Molestation, depersonalization, depression, derealization, DID, dissociation, dissociative fugue, dissociative identity disorder, Dreams, Family Relationships, headaches, Medication, Meds, Mental Health, Multiple Personalities, neglect, Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, Psychiatric Drugs, Psychiatric medication, Psychiatry, PTSD, self-harm, Sexual Abuse, Social Security Disability, Therapy, Trauma, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Collage clippings

  1. castorgirl says:

    I once did a collage with a therapist in-session. We both worked from the same base materials of woman’s magazines… her collage was filled with beaches, rainbows, love and happiness; mine was puppets running away, objectification of women and violence. Magazines are can be pretty violent and demeaning.

    It might feel disturbing, but collaging can be incredibly healing.

    Take care,
    CG

Leave a Reply

