Do texture triggers exist?


I saw somewhere that some people who have been sexually abused, have certain foods that they can’t stand eating because they trigger. Don’t all people have some stuff that they can’t eat because of texture or something. I get the shaped food stuff but take me for example, I’ve never been able to eat canned fruit because texture makes me gag immediately. So what? Does anyone else have experience with this?

About CimmarianInk

Abuse Survivor Diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder PTSD and Dissociative Identity Disorder (DID) also known as Multiple Personalities
This entry was posted in abuse, Alters, bipolar disorder, Child Molestation, depersonalization, depression, derealization, DID, dissociation, dissociative fugue, dissociative identity disorder, Dreams, Family Relationships, headaches, Medication, Meds, Mental Health, Multiple Personalities, neglect, Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, Psychiatric Drugs, Psychiatric medication, Psychiatry, PTSD, self-harm, Sexual Abuse, Social Security Disability, Therapy, Trauma and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Do texture triggers exist?

  1. meredith says:

    You wrote: Don’t all people have some stuff that they can’t eat because of texture or something?

    Good question! Yes!! Sexual abuse victims do not have the market cornered on quirks. Quirks come with humans of all sizes, shapes, and colors. So does beauty.

    ~meredith~

    • tai0316 says:

      Like I wrote to Beautifulstones, it’s the tenddency to pick things apart, even things that are facts for others depending on the person. Nice comment about beauty meredith πŸ™‚

    • meredith says:

      Wow… that was an unfinished thought. Here is what I know as a mother of children who were not sexually abused: kids do not like texture. They can gag on anything from juice pulp to bananas… to peanut butter. Grownups can be vulnerable to gag reflexes as kids. My mate can’t stand the texture of certain things that make me absolutely roll my eyes and think, “oh, for heaven’s sake… get over it.” But we’re all sensitive to stuff. I have issues with some textures that I know are trauma related, but other stuff isn’t. It’s just me.

      Sometimes it’s hard not to catastrophize every last, quirky habit… but it’s okay to wade around in the idea of possible connections for awhile, too.

      ~meredith~

  2. Beautifulstones says:

    Hi I’ve been reading your blog a little and just thought I’d brave up and post a comment! Thank you for your courageous writing.

    Yes texture can trigger. I think for me it is mainly oral textures/consistencies (so not being able to eat yoghurt is an example of this. Drinking milk was also but I’ve managed if it is REALLY cold to tolerate this now.) Mainly the oral triggers relate to your post on Pandora’s project, but there are others I don’t know what they are about (like cauliflower cheese and baked beans!) But also a few other textures – like touching certain materials trigger me.

    • tai0316 says:

      Hello!
      Thank you for coming over. It’s a little scary to start commenting on someone’s blog isn’t it. I’m glad you did. Myself and others have talked about the tendency, once you start dealing with abuse issues, to pick apart every aspect of your life. I started looking at every little thing I do and trying to figure out if it’s just me being me or if it comes from somewhere else. That’s what this was about too. I’m picking things apart. Is the reason I can’t eat canned peaches and canned pears because of something sinister or is it the same thing as me not liking lima beans? You see what I mean πŸ™‚ I think it’s something I’ll do as I figure things out. It’s a fact that people who have been abused whether physically or sexually or whatever can be triggered by many different things, including food. The question for me is, at which point will I stop dissecting everything I do? I guess I’ll give it time. I’m glad you felt able to comment πŸ™‚ I’m not courageous. I’m one of the most chicken people I know, but thank you anyway lol!

      • Beautifulstones says:

        Thanks for your welcome. I know it is hard not to pick apart everything. I guess one of the “skills” I learnt is to “hold lightly” to things. So yes something might be a link but it might also not be. And generally I’ve found that if I can do that, the things that aren’t linked either cease to be an issue, or become more clearly just one of my human quirks, and the things that need working through become more clearly linked and make more sense over time. It’s like trying to do a jigsaw puzzle with pieces from a mixture of boxes. If you take every piece and say “this must fit, how do I make it fit?” you might end up putting the wrong pieces in. If you can hold a piece and say well this could fit, I’ll put it here on the side and wait and see. As the puzzle emerges, you will then see more clearly if that piece does indeed fit or doesn’t.

  3. I'm DID & so am I says:

    Yes, yes, yes. I have several.

    jo

  4. castorgirl says:

    Hi tai,

    My father was a butcher and then a bar manager. I gave up long ago trying to sort through all my odd reactions to the texture and smell of foods. To add to the fun, I’ve always been a fussy eater.

    So yes, the texture and smell of certain foods can be triggering. Does that mean all of the adverse reactions to textures are due to SA issues, it’s unlikely. I know people who have had amazingly normal childhoods, yet they can’t eat mushrooms because they’re slimy.

    I think brussel sprouts should be eliminated from the Earth though… nasty little things. And don’t be covering them with cheese sauce, thinking that makes them edible, oooooh nooooo. You can’t disguise their ugly little mushie beings. Did you know the water that leaks from a sprout can contaminate the other food on your plate? It can I tell you, it can. I have no food issues what-so-ever πŸ™‚

    Try not to over think things…

    Take care,
    CG

    • tai0316 says:

      I was totally overthinking things on this, I realize that. I think I have enough issues without adding to them and I agree, brussel sprouts are evil and should be shot into space lol πŸ™‚ Of course you have no food issues haha

    • meredith says:

      When I was little, my grandmother grew brussel sprouts, among other things. They were often present for Sunday dinner, and my sister and I were automatically served them. The first time she asked me what they were, I told her they were Martian Turds and they had special powers in them. I’d eat mine, staring straight at her, then cross my eyes and pretend to be “infused with power.”

      Needless, to say… that probably has a lot to do with why my sister never ate them. *sigh* I wonder if I’m going to have to put in an application for karmic exemption on this… I hope not. I always turn things in late.

      ~meredith~

Leave a Reply

