So the solution is more meds is it?


My doctor said that he wants me to take more Seroquel since my sleep has been disrupted for a while now because my husband has been sick, first with the vomiting and now a cold that keeps me up at night. That’s the fix, more sleeping medicine. Yep, I’m sure that’ll fix it. This won’t fix things quickly or even overnight. If at all. My husband is home today so today should be ok. The problem will come tomorrow when I’m alone. Alone with my thoughts again. Then what? I dissociated pretty bad this morning too out of nowhere. God, I hate this…

About CimmarianInk

Abuse Survivor Diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder PTSD and Dissociative Identity Disorder (DID) also known as Multiple Personalities
This entry was posted in Abilify, abuse, bipolar disorder, depersonalization, depression, derealization, DID, dissociation, dissociative identity disorder, Mania, Medication, Meds, Mental Health, Multiple Personalities, Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, Psychiatric Drugs, Psychiatric medication, Psychiatry, PTSD, self-harm, Seroquel, Sexual Abuse, Trauma and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to So the solution is more meds is it?

  1. I’ll apologise up-front if this comes across as judgemental … I just don’t get the whole meds thing?? I know you’ve got bipolar too and you need meds for that, but what do meds do for DID? I wonder if it’s a cultural thing – I don’t think we do meds so much here in Australia and my therapist thinks meds would only complicate things for me. I’m curious. I also wonder if my therapist is on to something and if less meds might be better? I’m not meaning to tell you what to do or anything. Sorry if this comes across all wrong.

    • tai0316 says:

      Don’t worry it didn’t come across wrong. Let me clarify: the meds are only for the bipolar symptoms, not the DID. The DID is more of a therapy thing. He’s only given me meds for DID that help with panic or anxiety and those are for emergencies. We did try Invega once to help me stay in reality and that did NOT work lol!

  2. castorgirl says:

    Have you got a plan for what to do tomorrow? Not big plans, but somethings lined up to keep you quietly busy and distracted. I do these sorts of mini goals and plans for the weekends. They can be simple like play non-triggering Internet games until midday, read a book, go to the shops, do some positive self soothing of some sort. Things that you have a good idea that you’ll be able to accomplish, but enough to keep you grounded in the present.

    Just an idea.

    I hope the Seroquel does it’s thing and helps you sleep. Lack of sleep is a big contributor to worsening of mental health issues.

    Take care,
    CG

    • tai0316 says:

      Hey CG 🙂

      Yes sleep problems can be very bad. I wish I could’ve told him that this stuff was happening before the sleep troubles started. I forgot to clarify that while I was talking to him. I got all flustered.
      Plans? Hmmm..I’ve run out of ideas and the cold weather is making getting out of the house harder. I’m at a loss at this point.

  3. I'm DID & so am I says:

    We know DID can’t be treated with any type of medication. But the other symptoms accompanied with DID can be treated. I’ve read anxiety if most important to treat. I have Bipolar II. Recently diagnosised. I also have terminal insomnia. Drugs for that too. I’m not on as many meds as I used to be. I do agree that there are some on too much meds.

    jo

  4. castorgirl says:

    I was once told that for DID, the medication is used as a tool to allow you to be in a place where the talk therapy can happen. So, as Jo says, it’s about managing the other symptoms to allow the underlying issues to be addressed.

    It’s also a mix of personal choice and expert opinion. All of the psychiatrists that I’ve met are very willing to talk about the medication options available. They also discuss the importance of a good diet, exercise and relaxation; but are realistic as to what is possible – if I can’t leave the house due to anxiety, then I might need medication help with the anxiety to begin with.

    I’m sorry you got flustered tai, can you email or call their practice to clarify the situation?

    Take care,
    CG

    • tai0316 says:

      You’re right about the medication options and the way the doctors view using meds CG.
      As for calling my doctor, I figure that I’ll try it his way so he can see that it doesn’t work, that way we won’t waste time if things get worse. I know it sounds stupid but I’m so tired I just don’t care to even call him.

  5. Our doctor always throws more drugs our way, Chemical cosh I call them. Never helped at all, Therapy was the only thing that helped the DID

    • tai0316 says:

      Hi tattooedmultiple 🙂
      Yea I agree, drugs don’t seem to help DID except for maybe anxiety meds I guess. Of course adding in the bipolar disorder, I’m always on a chemical cocktail lol

Leave a Reply

