Down to two choices


I saw my doctor today and we had a nice, long talk. We eventually came to the realization that there are two choices for me: we can try another drug that is supposed to act quickly to take these thoughts down a notch, enough for me not to act on it or I go into the hospital. We went with the first choice and he put me on Rosperidone. I’m supposed to take two a day. He asked me outright about my safety and he wanted me to tell him how fast I need this medicine to work. I said it has to work within one day or that’s it. So, we’re trying. He gave me instructions on what to do if I had to go to the E.R. etc. The downside? I guess that the military here has reserved some beds in each of our mental health facilities in town and that means that there aren’t as many beds available as there used to be. My doctor told me that the last couple of patients that had to be hospitalized ended up going out-of-town to other metro areas, one that’s two hours away and another that’s an hour away from where I live. Yikes! That means that if there’s no room here, I’d end up out-of-town, in a facility I’ve never been to. My doctor said that it doesn’t matter where I go, what matters is my safety. He also said that, looking at my past hospitalizations, being in the hospital is a valid treatment for me. In other words, I don’t have to feel bad if I have to be admitted, it’s treatment and it has worked in the past. So, now we wait and see what happens. If the meds don’t work, I foresee a three-day hospital stay in my future. Oh, and he took me off of the Abilify as well.

About CimmarianInk

Abuse Survivor Diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder PTSD and Dissociative Identity Disorder (DID) also known as Multiple Personalities
This entry was posted in Abilify, abuse, Alters, bipolar disorder, Child Molestation, depersonalization, depression, derealization, DID, dissociation, dissociative identity disorder, Mania, Medication, Meds, Mental Health, Multiple Personalities, neglect, Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, Psychiatric Drugs, Psychiatric medication, Psychiatry, PTSD, self-harm, Seroquel, Sexual Abuse, Therapy, Trauma and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Down to two choices

  1. Meredith says:

    If you can hold on. Wow. Why doesn’t he hospitalize you WHILE he transitions you with all these chemicals?!!

    Okay. No more comment. Just stay safe. Okay?

    Please.

    ~meredith~

    • tai0316 says:

      Dont worry you can say whatever you like Meredith 🙂 Its my fault because I said I was willing to try the meds first. He would’ve put me in if I had said that I wanted to be hospitalized. It’s my fault because I keep thinking “just one more day…”. He made me promise that I’d go to the E.R. if I got bad enough and I will. That’s why I’ve given myself only one day for the meds to work.

  2. I'm DID & so am I says:

    Does seem odd, no hospitalization not knowing how you’ll react to the Risperidone. I was on it for a while when my flashbacks were severe. It did help a bit, but was short lived.

    I agree with your doc when he says it doesn’t matter where you go, it’s about safety.

    jo

    • tai0316 says:

      Jo how long did it take for the meds to help initially?

      • I'm DID & so am I says:

        I noticed a difference immediately, I was put in a “coma.” That’s what my doc called it. Just to give my mind a break. I was taking half a tablet every hour. I was pretty much out of it, but at least I didn’t have to deal with the flashbacks.

        jo

      • tai0316 says:

        Hmmm..coma not so good. I did get tired this afternoon and I’m still groggy. I am glad it gave you a break even briefly though. Do you take anything now?

  3. I'm DID & so am I says:

    I’d call it more like a walking coma. I haven’t taken it for over a year. Starting having side effects. I was only taking it as a prn.

    jo

  4. castorgirl says:

    I got the sleepiness with it as well… I found it really fast acting – within an hour the sleepiness hit.

    Please go to the hospital tomorrow if there’s even a hint that things aren’t better.

    Sending positive thoughts your way.
    Take care,
    CG

  5. roseroars says:

    I hope this is helping. I had a similar option, but opted out of both. Let us know how you are doing.

    Lisa

    • tai0316 says:

      You opted out of both??? I’m not going to make much sense because I’m still too groggy to get out of bed. Jeez I’ll try to write more later sorry.

      • roseroars says:

        Trying to do this without new meds or hospitalization, that’s all. I’m really curious about how this medicine is working for you.

      • tai0316 says:

        Oh I see. Sorry about the gibberish earlier, I’m still kind of out of it. I forced myself to get up out of bed. I don’t know if it’s a combination of Seroquel and Risperidone together or if it’s just the Resperidone on its own that’s kicking my butt. I’m barely moving around at all, even typing is slow going. If they think they’ll fix the harmful thoughts by making me a zombie, that’s a dumb tactic.

Leave a Reply

