Diuretics, who knew?


Just a quick post to say that my doctor prescribed a diuretic to help with the Risperidone weight gain/water retention. I’m supposed to take one pill once a day in the morning and since I started taking it yesterday, I’ve lost 5lbs (yep five) of the water weight. That’s great, my question though is, is he correct that the water retention problem is a temporary side effect? You can’t take a diuretic forever.

About CimmarianInk

Abuse Survivor Diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder PTSD and Dissociative Identity Disorder (DID) also known as Multiple Personalities
This entry was posted in bipolar disorder, depersonalization, depression, derealization, DID, dissociation, dissociative identity disorder, Medication, Meds, Mental Health, Multiple Personalities, Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, Psychiatric Drugs, Psychiatric medication, Psychiatry, PTSD, risperidone, Sexual Abuse, Trauma and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Diuretics, who knew?

  1. meredith says:

    Every day’s a new day right now, isn’t it. I hate it when doctors just give you more pills to counter the pills you already take.

    I don’t have an answer for you, just empathy.

    ~meredith~

    • tai0316 says:

      lol no kidding meredith! I’ll take the empathy if that’s ok 🙂
      Sometimes you have to put your foot down on what you’re willing to accept and I don’t accept weight gain. I’ve lost 90lbs of med weight in two years after being skinny my whole life and gaining a hundred. I won’t go through that again, so either he’s right and the side effect is temporary or I’m not taking this medicine. It’s that simple. I see him on Monday so we’ll figure it out then.

      I’ve been thinking about you, feeling grateful for your kindness and spot-on words, and hoping that you’re doing ok yourself.

  2. I'm DID & so am I says:

    Good you’re getting some answers. Is the Risperidone working?

    jo

  3. meredith says:

    Don’t you just love those ‘definitely possible’ times? It’s like purgatory… only you don’t quite know, yet, that you’re in purgatory.

  4. roseroars says:

    So it might perhaps just possibly when -the-planets-are-in-alignment most probably be working?

  5. callmeams says:

    My grandmother takes water pills due to congestive heart failure. She has taken them for years and years. The biggest worry is that your kidneys and bladder will stop working on their own and require the pills to rid your body of fluid. She hasn’t had the side affect and the pills seems to do their business for the first few hours after she takes them and then she’s normal the rest of the day. I hope for your sake that this side affect is temporary, especially if this med works for you.

Leave a Reply

