What to call what “happened”? Is it rape?


So the short question is: if what I remember is true, does that mean that I was raped?

About CimmarianInk

Abuse Survivor Diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder PTSD and Dissociative Identity Disorder (DID) also known as Multiple Personalities
This entry was posted in abuse, Alters, Art Therapy, bipolar disorder, Child Molestation, depersonalization, depression, derealization, DID, dissociation, dissociative fugue, dissociative identity disorder, Dreams, Family Relationships, headaches, Incest, Mania, Meds, Mental Health, Multiple Personalities, neglect, Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, Psychiatric Drugs, Psychiatric medication, Psychiatry, PTSD, self-harm, Sex, Sexual Abuse, The Courage To Heal, Therapy, Trauma, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What to call what “happened”? Is it rape?

  1. I think it’s up to you Tai. Personally, I would say yes, but I do believe that the language you use to describe your experience is a *your* choice. Only in the past few months have I used “rape” to describe my experience. I know it’s right now. It is such a big word and it can be so scary to go there. However, despite the fear and struggle, I have found that claiming the word has been so validating! It has helped me to get away from the minimising and get closer to acceptance.

    Faith Allen (blooming lotus) wrote about this topic back in August and I asked about how to define “rape” in the comments. Midge submitted a very detailed definition and it really helped me. Here is the link: http://faithallen.wordpress.com/2010/08/10/how-do-female-perpetrators-sexually-abuse/ Beware that it might trigger though.

    You are doing so fantastically well Tai. I know it’s so hard right now. Seems like you’re really on the edge of a breakthrough though. Be strong. You can do it. 🙂

    Peace,
    Dawn

    • tai0316 says:

      Thank you for the link Dawn. It pretty much agreed with what I already thought but I need validation from other people it seems and not just from inside myself. I’m especially interested in the legal definition of rape. I don’t plan on doing anything to this guy, I can’t prove anything but it seems I need legal validation too. I don’t know why.

Leave a Reply

