My physician is an idiot!


My family physician (she has nothing to do with the mental stuff thank goodness) just sent a letter to all of her patients saying that she’s partnering with some medical company that provides VIP service for patients and that because of it, she’s cutting her private practice down to 600 patients. The letter said we had to reserve our space in her practice, so I go to the site to register and guess what??? The patient has to pay $1,500 per year to see her! That’s on top of co-pays and insurance premiums etc. Ha! No way. So I guess I’ll be looking for a new physician. Just wanted to rant for a second. 😛

About CimmarianInk

Abuse Survivor Diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder PTSD and Dissociative Identity Disorder (DID) also known as Multiple Personalities
This entry was posted in abuse, bipolar disorder, Child Molestation, depersonalization, depression, derealization, DID, dissociation, dissociative identity disorder, Incest, Mental Health, Multiple Personalities, Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, PTSD, Rape, Trauma. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to My physician is an idiot!

  1. Wow … I’m liking the Aussie Medicare system right now! That’s ridiculous!

    Dawn

  2. castorgirl says:

    Like what??? That’s just craziness… Is she really that good? Is that what other drs are doing?

    • tai0316 says:

      lol! No CG, she is NOT that good. I’ve read about some other doctors in other states doing it. Not many though, thank goodness. I think it falls along the lines of what they call concierge medicine, actually I’m right, I just looked at wikipedia to back me up:

      Concierge medicine (also known as direct care) is a relationship between a patient and a primary care physician in which the patient pays an annual fee or retainer. This may or may not be in addition to other charges. In exchange for the retainer, doctors provide enhanced care. Other terms in use include boutique medicine, retainer-based medicine, and innovative medical practice design.

      The practice is also referred to as membership medicine, concierge health care, cash only practice, direct care, direct primary care, and direct practice medicine. While all concierge medicine practices share similarities, they vary widely in their structure, payment requirements, and form of operation. In particular, they differ in the level of service provided and the amount of the fee charged. There are an estimated 5,000 concierge, or membership medicine doctors throughout the U.S.

      It’s insanity and a really mean thing to do to people who don’t have enough money to be “VIP’s” It’s like that show we have over here called “Royal Pains” about the doctor who treats rich people and is available for them 24/7, because they’re rich.

      • castorgirl says:

        Sounds like a great way to get an elite clientele. Great thing about the rich, as a generalisation, they don’t tend to get as ill as people on lower incomes. Just as well she’ll have $90000 guaranteed income before even seeing a client, hate to see her lose out or anything.

        Hope you find a good doctor elsewhere tai.

      • tai0316 says:

        Thanks I hope so too, it’s a surprising how stressed out this made me.

  3. callmeams says:

    Report her to your insurance company. I’m pretty sure that what she’s trying to do is illegal. By accepting insurance she agrees not to charge you over the amount in the insurance contract.

    • tai0316 says:

      Hey Amy,
      For some reason I think she can get away with it. Supposedly you’re paying the annual $1,500 fee to get better service. You have a “special” number you can call to get medical help at any time of day and you can get same-day or next-day appointments (which I’ve been able to do with her since the beginning for free). Oh! And the $1,500 gives you your medical records on a CD! Ooooh!

      Even though I did read that some doctors have been dropped by an insurance company for doing this kind of thing.

      • callmeams says:

        That’s total bs! Its extortion. Pay me extra or I’ll give you substandard care but I’m still going to rake your insurance over the coals. If I were you, I’d look for a new doc. I have the cell phone number of my kid’s doctor and mine has an answering service that contacts the doctor and she calls me back. If I have a sick call I do sometimes have to see the Physican’s Assistant, but she’s great as well.

        I agree…money grubbing bitch.

  4. roseroars says:

    Hmmm…idiot…money-grubbing bitch…..idiot…money-grubbing bitch…..

    Nope. Can’t decide.

    Sorry. I don’t her. That would really piss me off, too.

    Lisa

    • tai0316 says:

      lol!
      I’m with you Lisa. As dismayed as I am right now, I’m going with money-grubbing bitch! 🙂
      I’m going to have to ask around and find a good doctor somehow. *sigh*

  5. Anon says:

    I hope she doesn’t get enough people to sign up like that and has to come crawling back to her old patients. The bitch.

  6. Freasha1964 says:

    That just sucks!
    Tai, I have a feeling you’re gonna LOVE your new doctor.

  7. ravenari says:

    That’s AWFUL! You’d want to be the ‘King/Queen of Physicians’ if you were going that direction! I’m sorry you have to search for a new doctor; that’s always a drag.

Leave a Reply

