Part 2 of My Physician is an idiot!


So, the reason I had gone to my doctor most recently was that, for the last several years I’ve had swelling in the lymph nodes on the right side of my neck that really hurt. I also have this specific spot close to my windpipe that kind of flares up so to speak and causes severe pain. Actually I say windpipe, but I’m not sure where it really comes from. I only know that she almost strangled me finding the spot I was talking about since it’s inside my throat area. These lymph nodes and the pain near my windpipe recur every couple of months and they have for the last several years or so. The pain near my windpipe hurts when I swallow, when I talk, and if you press on it I’ll yell. Anyway, I went to her again about this problem because it happened again just like always. She ordered a cat scan, which took forever to get and the pain near my windpipe had gone away (again) but the swelling on my neck was still there. Oh, i should mention that 2 years a go they tested me for mono because I had about three lymph nodes swollen in the spot that usually means mono. I of course did not have mono but they had to prove it for themselves. Getting back to my unnecessarily long story :D, her nurse calls me after the cat scan and says, there’s nothing there, maybe you should try physical therapy if it’s more of a muscular skeletal thing. The end. They happened to send me a copy of the cat scan report from the imaging place and they’ve underlined some things and what do I read? I’ve got nodules on my thyroid. I should mention that most likely because of the Lithium I took 9 years ago when I was first diagnosed bipolar, I have an enlarged thyroid. Lithium can permanently jack your thyroid. We did a thyroid scan a couple of years ago because it feels big when a doctor touches it and at that time there were no nodules. Now there are. Ok so no big deal right? Cool. I move on and they underlined that there was a prominent node on the right side of my neck near the jugular vein. Hmmm…didn’t I tell her that the right side of my neck hurts like hell? Now, let me say that I pride myself on not being a hypochondriac. I figure i have enough wrong with me without borrowing more stuff. 😛 My point is that I wasn’t told about any of this and I think I should’ve been. They suggested a clinical exam for some other stupid thing they saw on the scan and she didn’t mention that either. *sigh* I am…annoyed. Wait! Let me use the Queen of England’s saying: I am not amused.

Ok I made myself laugh. 😀

About CimmarianInk

Abuse Survivor Diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder PTSD and Dissociative Identity Disorder (DID) also known as Multiple Personalities
This entry was posted in bipolar disorder. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Part 2 of My Physician is an idiot!

  1. “her nurse calls me after the cat scan and says, there’s nothing there,”

    does the woman know how to read?!?

  2. roseroars says:

    Be proactive! Tell them sons o’ bitches you pay their salary and you want answers! Or…be proactive in a more respectful, yet stern way. If you’re nervous tell them you have some questions and would appreciate some answers about your test results. The best thing I’ve found to do is write down the questions and make sure they see the paper (notebooks work best). Every single time I’ve done this the doctor has sat down and really listened to me. I believe that most doctors want the best for their patients and are empathetic, but sometimes you have to stop them and let them know that it’s not helping you if you don’t understand what’s going on.

    I hope you are able to get your answers.

    Lisa

    • tai0316 says:

      I like the proactive without respect route lol!
      I think I’d be more likely to follow-up with her if she wasn’t pulling this ‘I’m going to charge $1,500 to give you the privlege of seeing me’ crap. It feels like she’s not going to be that great until she sees who’s going to pay to stay with her. Now I’m wondering if I should just wait until I find a new doctor and let them look into it. The hard part of course being how do you know who’s a good doctor and who’s not?

  3. castorgirl says:

    Why not ring around a couple of potential doctors, and ask for a second opinion on the scans? That will help to ease your mind about the results, and in the process interview some prospective new doctors.

Leave a Reply

