Oh, forgot to mention my vitamin D. Yes I know that’s a weird post lol!


I forgot to mention that during my physical we went over blood test results and my vitamin D is once again a problem. My rheumatologist had told me this before and I had taken a supplement for a while and then I thought it was fine. Apparently it’s not fine and it will never be fine. My doctor says I have to take a bunch of vitamin D forever. *eye roll* Actually it really is bad, I shouldn’t joke. She said that we needed to start me on prescription strength Vitamin D to which I said, “There’s prescription strength Vitamin D!?” and there is. Who knew. Guess what the amount is? I picked up the prescription and I have to take 50,000 IU every week for 3 months and then I have to go back to my previous regimen of taking 4,000 IU everyday. That’s a lot of freakin’ vitamin D! I think the recommended daily value is like 400 IU or something. Jeez. Apparently I need to take a hard look at my total diet and see if I can bring more healthy stuff in just in general. I’ve made it one of my life’s goal not to be anything like my mother (very unhealthy and lazy) and to not repeat the mistakes of my grandmother who died at 66 and had her first heart attack in her 40’s. My goal is to avoid heart disease, cholesterol issues and diabetes. I would happy if I could do that.

About CimmarianInk

Abuse Survivor Diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder PTSD and Dissociative Identity Disorder (DID) also known as Multiple Personalities
This entry was posted in bipolar disorder, Child Abuse, DID, dissociation, Mental Health, Multiple Personalities, Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, PTSD, Sexual Abuse and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Oh, forgot to mention my vitamin D. Yes I know that’s a weird post lol!

  1. Lisa says:

    I have a Vit. D deficiency, too. If I’m not careful I’ll need to get shots for it. I already give myself B-12 shots and I don’t want to do Vit. D also. My psychiatrist likes to tell me to stop being a vampire and get out in the sun.

    I hope you can balance everything out.

    Lisa

    • tai0316 says:

      I know what you mean Lisa, I don’t go out in direct sunlight as much as I should. It’s actually a fact that African-American women, in other words me woohoo, have trouble absorbing vitamin d because of our dark skin. I’ll have to try harder to get out now that winter is winding down. The vitamin b thing sucks! I’m sorry.

  2. Freasha1964 says:

    Hi Tai,
    My doctor is big on Vitamin D. I think it is linked to depression (a deficit) as well as many other things. She says the Institute of Medicine’s recommendation of 800U a day will prevent rickets and that is about it. It depends on where you live (sunshine factor) but she has me on 2000-4000 U a day. When I was still low, she surmised that either I was not eating enough fat with my Vitamin D intake (it is fat soluble), or that the capsule was not releasing my dose. She put me on drops where this wouldn’t be an issue. I haven’t been tested since then, but hopefully it’s up now.
    http://www.lewrockwell.com/miller/miller25.html She recommends this web site.(I haven’t looked at it, though).

    • tai0316 says:

      Hi Freasha,
      Drops are always a nice way to go since you don’t have to wonder if you’re getting your dose. I figure I’ll add the weekly pills to my morning medication regimen so I don’t forget to take it. I’ll start Monday so I know to take it the same day every week. I wonder why Vitamin D is such a problem for people nowadays? Too much stuff keeping us indoors?

      • Freasha1964 says:

        Maybe because to get out in enough sun to get enough vitamin D we have to risk skin cancer – especially for the more pale skinned among us. So we slather on the sunscreen or wear long shirts, and there goes the D potential.

Leave a Reply

