Sometimes those grocery store magazines have good ideas: self-esteem


Ok, so I subscribe to Shape magazine. Hate me if you like. 🙂 In this month’s issue they had an article about being your own cheerleader, scoff if you like lol. Anyway this little box had some suggestions about boosting your self-confidence and I was wondering if I’m able to try these suggestions. What I mean is, I wonder if I’m too damaged to do this kind of stuff or should I just take a small leap and try suggestions to feel better about myself. So, I figured I would share these little tips with everyone else and you can laugh or smirk if you like to. 😉 I have to say I actually like the first one:

  • Keep tabs on the compliments you’ve received. It basically says that when people say something nice about you like complimenting your hair or the way you organized something, don’t shrug it off. Take the compliments at face value and use them to make a list of things to like about yourself. I have a hard time with this, a really hard time. I’m actually known for not taking compliments well. People who know me, actually remind me to just say thank you. So the point is to linger on compliments instead of shrugging them off. I figure for people with our backgrounds this does not make us narcissists. I figure we need all of the self-esteem boosting we can get. The next one is a hard one too especially if you have a background with abuse. Check it out.
  • Remember happy days. Yes I know many people will be like, Ha! This is the point I picked out from the paragraph they wrote: Think back to a time when you were fully engaged and loving life (I know that can be really hard!). Chances are that you were doing something you excel at like maybe taking pictures or helping someone redecorate. Or maybe you’re levelheaded in a crisis which they brought out is probably not a happy memory but situations like that can be exhilarating because they remind us how strong we are. Basically, focus on what you’re good at and by doing that, invite positive energy into your life. Again you can laugh if you want to.
  • Write a letter to your body. Take a few minutes to think about all it has done for you and give thanks for legs that can sprint, a voice that can sing a tune and arms that can carry heavy groceries. That’s a quote from the article, not exactly my words, but it reminded me of our lovely blog-sister meredith 🙂 The next one they stated would be a challenge and to me it’s one of the biggest, at least for me, but I think for a lot of us it would be difficult but if we could do it? Wow.
  • Take a good luck. They challenged the reader to find three, count ’em three things that you like about your body. I know, I know. They said to stand in front of the mirror (I hate mirrors), and avoid thinking about just minimizing your flaws. Instead ask: “What do I have going for me?” I know, I can hear some of you lol! They said that paying attention to your best features means you’re defining yourself by what you like instead of what you don’t.

Those were the suggestions and you can take them or leave them but I figured I might pick out one suggestion and work on it, like taking compliments at face value instead of shrugging them off. We’ll see.

About CimmarianInk

Abuse Survivor Diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder PTSD and Dissociative Identity Disorder (DID) also known as Multiple Personalities
This entry was posted in Mental Health and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Sometimes those grocery store magazines have good ideas: self-esteem

  1. meredith says:

    Are you waiting for a permission slip to affirm that you can take this little field trip? 😉

  2. catherine says:

    great post. thanks. i love the suggestions. i got a nice compliment today (about my photography) and i’m still smiling. . . hope to hang on to this feeling.

  3. roseroars says:

    Last week I did write a letter to my body and it worked really well.

    Nice ideas!

    Lisa

Leave a Reply

