Taking action: Viola Lessons


I just wanted to post that I took my first viola lesson yesterday. I didn’t tell anyone, including my therapist that I was going to do it because I didn’t want to have to say that I failed by not following through with my plans. But, I did it and I was surprised how happy it made me. Apparently the semester in elementary school stuck because things started coming back to me a bit which was nice. It was actually weird having my memories work in a positive way by bringing back my music lessons. It was also strange that I could have positive feelings connected to me being a child back when I learned the viola. My childhood was already full of abuse by then but I can see that I had something positive in the music. even if I end up sucking at this, I’m glad that I’ve taken steps to try to learn. Even having the viola in the house is comforting and looking at it is comforting.

About CimmarianInk

Abuse Survivor Diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder PTSD and Dissociative Identity Disorder (DID) also known as Multiple Personalities
This entry was posted in dissociative identity disorder and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Taking action: Viola Lessons

  1. Turq says:

    that’s so awesome. I was thinking about buying a trumpet yesterday but realised it was just spending *more* money, even though I’d love a decent-enough-to-play one. But then talking to a therapist (who had been a viola-ist- liking the serendipity here!) about musical expression (and what’s wrong with my horn, practical issues stopping playing guitar, how music can unite people, etc) has really reminded me how important this is.
    Congrats!

  2. Freasha1964 says:

    Tai!
    The first words out of my mouth were “oh my god!”. I had just recently been wondering if you had followed through, but dared not ask you in case it was a sore spot, or some whim you put out there a while ago and forgot about. Well, it wasn’t! I am so happy and pleased!

    What a healthy and healing endeavor for you to take on the path with you. Even if you suck, and I bet you won’t, that is not the point, as you have noted. It makes so much sense that viola lessons were a safe refuge for a little girl living in an ocean of abuse. An island of beauty, calm, and safety. I am overjoyed to hear that you have reconnected with that island.

  3. roseroars says:

    That is so very cool.

  4. castorgirl says:

    *Doing happy dance with a big smile on my face*

    Awesome… I’m so glad you did this for yourself tai. This from the person who says she isn’t sure how to soothe and look after herself… pfft… 🙂 I’m so glad it’s bringing you comfort… that alone makes it valuable.

    Take care,
    CG

    • tai0316 says:

      Awww! Thanks you guys, all of you for the positive reactions. 🙂 I really appreciate that you’re supportive of the idea even if I end up sucking at it later. I was surprised by how happy everyone seemed with my decision. You guys sound like my therapist when I told her I had my first lesson. She said it gave her chills, in a good way. 😉 It’s really touching that all of you are so supportive and I hope that I can return the favor.

  5. callmeams says:

    I’m so thrilled for you. 🙂 I don’t even had the words for how happy I am to hear that you did something for yourself and that it brought you joy.

  6. meredith says:

    Happy, happy, happy smiles from all of me!

    ~meredith~

  7. This post makes me so happy! I am so happy for YOU! Good for you. I hope we get to hear some of your viola playing some day!

    • tai0316 says:

      😀 Thank you so much Paul.
      Yes, I’ll become the next YouTube sensation when I post a video of me making my cats howl while playing the viola lol. No, really, thanks. No matter what happens with it, I’m glad that I’m trying.

  8. i use to play many instruments and even wrote songs and lyrics. time lost. suddenly i don’t touch any of those instruments and now i only listen to music. i made a decision to devote myself to writing. the ones who played the music have gone deep inside. the writer has emerged strong and demanding of the time we are awake. you are very brave returning to something you did when you were a child and going through with it. good luck. i hope you enjoy the viola. mac ps. i like your blog site. it makes me feel braver inside.

    • tai0316 says:

      Hi!
      Thank you so much for the kind words.
      I’m glad that you are able to access your writing ability to express yourself. It sounds like you have a lot of talent inside of you and that’s really great.
      Thank you for coming over. 🙂

Leave a Reply

