Wow, my mood has shifted rapidly!


I’m really sad and I just wrote that other post a few minutes ago. I mean I’m really, really sad. This is not good. Why is the cover of a magazine making me so upset???

About CimmarianInk

Abuse Survivor Diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder PTSD and Dissociative Identity Disorder (DID) also known as Multiple Personalities
This entry was posted in bipolar disorder, depression, Mania and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Wow, my mood has shifted rapidly!

  1. Pandora says:

    *hugs*

    I have such conflicted feelings about this story. As for the cover of this magazine, I feel kind of insulted too, even though my bipolar diagnosis is unconfirmed. It’s like they’re trying to glamorise, rather than normalise, mental illness/distress. Speak out? Fine. Have your hair blown back beautifully, your make-up done perfectly, and speak out? Less fine. Bipolar disorder is not a middle class affectation as some people seem to believe. To me, this kind of imagery seems to reinforce that horrible notion, rather than making the point that it’s seriously debilitating and potentially life-threatening condition.

    I can’t blame you for being sad about it 😦 But please take care of yourself. xxx

    (For the record I don’t blame Catherine Zeta-Jones per se, but rather the ridiculous tabloid media’s reaction to her disclosure. Here in the UK, it’s led some of the papers to start up the whole “bipolar is just a fad, wah wah” nonsense. The Madosphere wrote a humourous but insightful rebuttal to some of that here :)).

    • tai0316 says:

      Hi Pan 🙂

      That article was funny, thank you for the link! And they’re right, it seems like it’s the “du jour” right now. I had to mention that I just saw that Demi Lavato has now come out as having bipolar disorder. I actually don’t have a problem with her because she had a breakdown and she was cutting and then was in treatment, so her saying that she’s bipolar does not surprise me. My only issue was the timing. It was so convienent to have that announced when Ms. Zeta-Jones “came out”.

  2. roseroars says:

    My first reaction to : “Wow, my mood has shifted rapidly!” was – because you’re bipolar, you numbnut! But I thought if I wrote that it would sound too sarcastically harsh, so I didn’t write it AT ALL.

    It’s always good to bring some attention to it, but they made it seem…I don’t know…like she just bought a new dress and spilled ketchup on it. That bugged me and made me mad.

    • tai0316 says:

      HA! My reaction to my own post was: because you’re bipolar, you numbnut! lol And I love how you didn’t write it AT ALL 😉
      I think that sometimes I take being bipolar for granted because I’m so used to the mood shifts just being part of my daily life, but then when I have reaction to something specific that causes an abrupt swing it kind of reminds me more forcefully of what I’m dealing with.

      I LOVE the way you stated this:” they made it seem…I don’t know…like she just bought a new dress and spilled ketchup on it.” So true and SO funny.

  3. Autum Rose says:

    I wrote an article that may help you along your path and your frustrations here is the link to it….when i was first diagnosed with this disorder it made me feel like i was crazy and ppl looked at me differently but you are a strong person or god would have never gave you this to deal with here is the link……http://mommyblogsnet.org/2011/04/being-a-full-time-mom-with-bi-polar-ii-disorder/

Leave a Reply

