I haven’t left the building, I’m just renovating


That’s my way of saying sorry for not posting if I should have. I went to the ear, nose and throat doctor yesterday because the recurring pain I’ve had inside came back. My family physician said to try to get in to see my throat doctor when the pain came back so he could check it out. It’s always a problem because it’s been going on for over a year. The pain comes suddenly, it hurts a lot and then goes away after maybe 3-4 days. Then it comes back about 2 months later and repeats. If I try to go to the doctor and I have to wait, it’s always gone by the time I go in.

When I was with my last family physician before she got all bitchy and decided to make people pay $1500 a year to see her (you guys remember that), she saw me once while it was happening. She pressed on the inside of my throat where I pointed and I almost jumped off the bed.

Anyway, the pain appeared suddenly yesterday and my ear, nose, and throat doctor was able to see me because his triage nurse got me in. He stuck this scope in my nose and down my throat…oh my god! Not cool! Anyway, he has a theory that I’m experiencing swelling of the carotid artery which means nothing because that is a symptom not an answer. I’ve noticed that when this happens, the weather has changed and my hands and feet get icy cold. It’s feel awful. So that was fun. But then it got better because this morning, I woke up and my jaw was hurting. I put my hand on my face and I have this huge swelling where my jaw meets my ear. It hurts like hell! So, I went to see my physician’s asst. today for that. And I’m not exaggerating, her exact medical description of the size was “crazy huge” lol! She measured it too, so funny. So, now I’m on antibiotics for the jaw thing even though we don’t know what it is and my throat doctor wants me to take 2400 mg of ibuprofen for 3 days to see if the artery theory is right. Yea! How was that for being a downer? Good huh?

About CimmarianInk

Abuse Survivor Diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder PTSD and Dissociative Identity Disorder (DID) also known as Multiple Personalities
This entry was posted in dissociative identity disorder. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I haven’t left the building, I’m just renovating

  1. Pandora says:

    The thought of the ENT doctor with the thing up his nose almost made me retch! 😉

    Seriously, tai, this all sounds horrible 😦 There’s not much I feel I can say really, except that I’m thinking of you and really, really hope both medications kick in soon and start making a positive difference.

    Please take good care of yourself

    Pan ❤ xxxxx

    • tai0316 says:

      Hehe 🙂

      Pan, let me tell you how slow I was catching on. Like I said, my primary doctor wanted me to go to the ent doctor as sson as the pain in my throat came back. She told me he’d be able to look down there. So, like an idiot, I’m thinking, ‘Boy, how’s he going to be able to see what I’m talking about by looking in my mouth?’ (because the pain’s not really in that area, it’s more internal sort-of). So when I get to the ent doctor’s office, the nurse says she’s going to spray my nasal passages with something, and she uses those things that pry your nostrils open. I’m thinking, ‘Huh, this must be qa new thing that they’re doing now in case he needs to look in your nose.’ Oh yea, I’m slow and it gets better.

      Whatever she sprayed it with was so weird, and then she says that she’s also going to spray my nasal passages with lidocaine. I was SO stupid, I’m sitting there thinking, “I wonder why they need to spray my nose with lidocaine?” DUH!
      He came in and I’m still thinking that he’s going to look down my throat in a normal way, so he takes the scope and I open my MOUTH! Double Duh! He goes for my nose and I say “Oh! What are we doing?” and he’s like, “I’m going to put this in your nose to look down your throat.” Ding! Then I got it!

      And what’s pathetic is that my default setting kicked in, and the whole time he’s in there, it hurts despite the lidocaine and I’m apologizing to him for hurting me. He even said something to me about it while he was looking. He kept saying, “Why are you apologizing? I’m the one sticking something in your nose!” But every time he did something that hurt, I kept saying”I’m sorry” which, mind you, is not easy to do when a scope is in there!

      Jeez!

  2. castorgirl says:

    I wondered why I didn’t respond to this post, then I saw the bit about the scope up your nose… I had that done to me years ago and it freaked me out no end! It was soooo awful, I felt so vulnerable and triggered while he was doing it all.

    I hope they can find out what’s causing the pain.

    Take care,
    CG

    • tai0316 says:

      You know, I wondered if that post would be triggering but I wasn’t sure since it was a nose thing and not any other part of the body. Sorry 😦 Hope you’re ok CG.

      • castorgirl says:

        Don’t you dare apologise! That procedure is not common, and even if it was, it’s up to the individual to manage their trigger reactions…

        I’m glad you shared what was going on for you, it sounds really scary and frustrating.

        Take care of yourself,
        CG

      • castorgirl says:

        I should also add, that all I was trying to do by saying I’d had the procedure too, was that I know how scary it can be… and uncomfortable. I wasn’t meaning to say anything negative about you sharing what was going on for you.

        Take care,
        CG

      • tai0316 says:

        😉 Never worry CG, I knew what you meant.

Leave a Reply

