Safety Is Gone


Safety Is Gone


 

About CimmarianInk

Abuse Survivor Diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder PTSD and Dissociative Identity Disorder (DID) also known as Multiple Personalities
This entry was posted in Alters, Art Therapy, dissociative identity disorder, self-harm and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Safety Is Gone

  1. Meredith says:

    Is this a response to something that happened recently, tai? Therapist cancellations aside, are you okay?

    • tai0316 says:

      Hi meredith,

      Yes this is in response to yesterday’s session that I blogged about. It seems that having a new angry alter present during therapy opened some kind of door to thinking that self-injury is acceptable. Hence, the image of hands cutting the ties holding the girl up.

  2. Meredith says:

    oi! I read your post after looking at the picture. I think making contact with parts of ourselves that find self-harm a part of expression is horribly confusing. Lately, I’ve had to be very careful when I read for a similar reason. I run. I don’t know where I’d run… I guess that’s the worrisome part.

    • tai0316 says:

      Yes I agree it’s confusing for sure. I’m kind of stymied (is that how you spell that? lol) about what to do because I don’t care enough at the moment.

  3. Meredith says:

    I have times when caring takes too much energy, too. Maybe it’s not such a bad thing, though; I’m usually overtired or overwhelmed at times like this, and doing ‘nothing’ can be a great choice. Standing still serves me just as well (if not better, at times) than trying to figure out what to do.

  4. Meredith says:

    Well, yes and no. I think it’s good to see how well things are going when I genuinely stop and pick something to connect to in the ‘now’ when the brain is doing the funky chicken. Sometimes, it helps me to specifically look at my external world and name things I see… just to know I’m not part of an episode of Dr. Who.

    I don’t know how else to say it… but it reminds me I don’t have to travel to any other time if I clearly don’t want to. Lately, when I don’t understand what’s happening, I’ve asked myself ‘where’s the phone booth?’ and when I ‘see it’ there’s a CLOSED FOR SERVICES sign on the door and a padlock on the handle. That’s when I stand still. That’s when I know I need to idle my Need to Know engine.

    I seldom need to know as much as I’m sure I do need to know…. you know? 😉

    • tai0316 says:

      But I love Dr. Who, so what if I’d rather be there lol? Just teasing, I think I know what you mean. Standing still can be difficult at times like this. *sigh*

  5. Meredith says:

    Sigh. Obviously I need to stand still… period. Sorry about the confusing explanation. It made so much sense when I started out…

Leave a Reply

