Left field comment about the movie “Tangled”


Ok, so I was apparently the last person in the world to see the movie “Tangled”, the retelling of Rapunzel. Well, I finally saw it a few weeks ago and I was going to write about it but I changed my mind. Now it’s on cable and it made me think of saying something about it again, so I will.

First, I really liked it which totally surprised me. I mean it had the typical happy ending but that wasn’t what got to me the most. I was shocked at how my own life experience changed the way I reacted to the movie. the biggest thing was her “mother” the witch who kidnapped her. There’s a part in the movie where Rapunzel wants to go into the city to see these lanterns they fly in the air every year and her evil witch mother tells her that the world isn’t safe, that people will only use her and that she couldn’t handle it. The mother then proceeds to sing a song called something like “Mother Knows Best” or something where she tells Rapunzel how clumsy and stupid she is and that’s why she should always listen to her mother. All through the movie she tells her how incompetent she is and then quickly follows up by saying how much she loves her. Wow. That got me because it so obviously wasn’t love. The witch wanted her for her hair and what it could do for her but Rapunzel had never known anything else so she believed that her mother loved her.

Rapunzel ends up escaping anyway, even though she feels guilty for hurting her mother and the witch tracks her down and tells her that the man she’s with will betray her. She tells Rapunzel that the man couldn’t possibly like her, just look at her! The witch sets them up of course and Rapunzel goes back home. Eventually she finds out that it was her “mother” was the one using her all of those years and that she wasn’t safe at home. She ends up being saving the guy and being a hero herself.

Yes, I liked it. It was funny which never hurts, but the mother tearing you down while saying how much she loves you really hit home. Of course my mother never said that she loved me when I was growing up but she did say it in one of those last messages as she attacked me and called me liar.

Go Disney!

About CimmarianInk

Abuse Survivor Diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder PTSD and Dissociative Identity Disorder (DID) also known as Multiple Personalities
This entry was posted in abuse, Child Abuse, neglect, Trauma and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Left field comment about the movie “Tangled”

  1. castorgirl says:

    As a child, we’re almost hard wired to believe that our parents love us… it’s what society expects, and it’s our attempts to bond with those around us. Even if we’re told differently, that our parents don’t love us in positive ways, children will still deny it and protect their parents. Sometimes parents genuinely think that they love their children, even if they are abusing them… because they don’t understand what love is, or (like the witch) put their own needs above those of their child.

    So this isn’t a left field comment about the movie at all… the movie/story goes into some pretty dark territory. It’s interesting, I usually buy all the good animated movies, but this is one I can’t buy. Don’t know why. I’m glad you enjoyed, or got something out of it though 🙂

    Take care,
    CG

    • CimmerianInk says:

      I understand, believe me. Even though I had all of those deep thoughts about it ( 😛 ) I have no intention of actually buying the movie because I don’t want to actually own it. I think it’s a little too “deep” for me.
      Silly isn’t it?

      • castorgirl says:

        Not silly at all… I think that’s the reason why I can’t buy it either. I own “Where the wild things are” and can’t bring myself to watch it again because it’s a reflection of my own anger and lack of voice. Sometimes those reflections are too harsh to have around.

      • CimmerianInk says:

        Agreed! I totally get that!

        I’ve never watched Where The Wild Things Are. I have a weird reaction to The Secret of Nimh too just because I watched it so much as a child when I was living with my mom. Bad memories.

  2. empty says:

    No, I guess I’m the only one who hasn’t seen it.

    jo

Leave a Reply

