Removing the ridiculous post containing the link to the “DID” article after re-reading it


I’m going to go back and remove a post containing a link to what I now realize is not merely a oversimplification of DID but is just wrong. When I first read it, I was so interested in the part about how old a person usually is when they develop the alters that I completely didn’t get that they were saying the personalities are imaginary. That’s so very wrong and I don’t want to misdirect anybody. I’m letting you  know so that if you commented you’ll know where your replies went. Yikes! So sorry!

About CimmarianInk

Abuse Survivor Diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder PTSD and Dissociative Identity Disorder (DID) also known as Multiple Personalities
This entry was posted in DID, dissociative identity disorder. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Removing the ridiculous post containing the link to the “DID” article after re-reading it

  1. castorgirl says:

    Hi,

    If you want to read about how our personality is formed, try the human development books.

    The site had all the markings of a credible site – it was from an educational institution, and quoted research… so don’t feel badly. It always pays to read around and look at any website with a critical eye 🙂

    Take care,
    CG

    • CimmerianInk says:

      Have you read anything in particular that was helpful to you on understanding how all of this happened? I could just keep it simple but I sometimes go through these periods where I want to research and “understand” you know?

      • castorgirl says:

        Hi tb,

        Here’s a couple of books that I’d recommend from an academic perspective:

        Claiborne & Drewery (2009). Human development: Family, place, culture. McGraw-Hill Education.
        This is a New Zealand based text and really excellent, but you’re unlikely to get hold of it in the States.

        Santrock, J. (2010). Child development. McGraw-Hill Education.
        Santrock produces a new text of his books every year or so, and there is often little difference between them, so you could safely get an earlier edition without finding too much difference – don’t go back past 2005 though. He also does Life-span development, Childhood and Adolescence books, all of which are good. They’ll be available in most public libraries, even though they are introductory academic texts.

        Other good authors are Diane Papalia, Kathleen Berger and Carol Sigelman.

        As for non-academic texts, the works of Alice Miller are really interesting.

        If your library uses Dewey, go to 155 for the human development books and 305.231 for the child development books. If you use LC, try BF713 and HQ772. Those numbers might vary depending on the focus of the collection 🙂

        As a warning, reading the academic texts can get you caught up in the intellectual… I found them useful, but there was a tension when I could find reasons for my behaviours and sort of tick them off intellectually without realising the emotional impact of what I was reading. That’s where Alice Miller’s work is meant to be good – her book The drama of the gifted child is in my pile of books to read. I had to read the academic texts as part of my work, so that’s why I know more about them.

        Feel free to ask questions, and please check with your therapist about reading something like this. It’s not dangerous, learning is good, but sometimes it has to be done gently.

        I also read these general academic texts before I read any of the dissociative based books, mainly so that I could see if there was any differences between the theories being mentioned.

        Take care,
        CG

      • CimmerianInk says:

        You are the best librarian! 😀

Leave a Reply

