News stories taking notice of male victims of child sex abuse (though a little late in my opinion).


I don’t know if it’s better late than never in this situation or not. I’m not a guy so I can’t pretend to know what it feels like to be a male victim of sexual abuse. But I can empathize.

I just saw this article which talks about the unique circumstances of male victims of sexual abuse. I think it’s really important that people realize there is a different dynamic to abuse when the victim is male. I feel empathy for male victims because of this. The whole society picture that males shouldn’t be victims blah, blah, blah…it’s so unfair and causes more damage.

The article talks about the fact that the Penn State abuse case is triggering for many victims, both male and female but especially for boys or adult men who were abused, especially if it was a similar circumstance. I just wanted to recognize that someone started talking about it. It also mentions a couple of websites for male victims. A good point is that people may need to limit their exposure to the news stories so they aren’t re-traumatized or triggered.

http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/45314171/ns/us_news-life/

About CimmarianInk

Abuse Survivor Diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder PTSD and Dissociative Identity Disorder (DID) also known as Multiple Personalities
This entry was posted in Child Molestation, DID, dissociative identity disorder, Incest, Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, PTSD, Rape, Sexual Abuse, Trauma and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to News stories taking notice of male victims of child sex abuse (though a little late in my opinion).

  1. Pandora says:

    I completely agree with you about men who’ve been abused. Child molestation in general is the last great taboo, but I think that especially affects men, particularly as the grow up from boyhood; in the popular psyche, consciously or otherwise, they’re supposed to fill all these macho roles. Sadly, discussing and seeking treatment for abuse isn’t one of those 😦

    Here in Northern Ireland, suicide is the largest cause of death amongst young men. There are factors like poverty involved, and no mention of CSA hits the media, but whatever the causes it’s clear than men feel unable to speak up about their difficulties, which is so tragic and sad 😦

    Anyway, I’m glad not to be in America at the minute to be honest; the Penn State scandal is being talked about here, but not anywhere near as much as it seems to be there. I imagine it must be very triggering – so sending you safe hugs.

    Take care

    Pan x

  2. castorgirl says:

    Hi tb,

    I agree, there are different issues involved when the victim of sexual abuse is male. It’s not better, or worse, than if you are a female victim… but definitely different. My ex-husband was sexually abused by his sister from the ages of 7-13, and when he told a few people, he was told he was lucky that he “got some”, or “learned about it early”. I know females get similar sorts of responses, but I find that despicable, and another reason why people stay silent for so long.

    I hope you’re managing to keep your head above water with the Penn State scandal… I know it’s a triggering mess for so many.

    Take care,
    CG

  3. her-crazy-ex says:

    I have lived like this for close to 40 years. I have finally slipped into the final stages of bipolar. there is such limited help out there for a man. My personel case is of incest and that is how I grew up. Verbal and physical attacks were also a part of my childhood. I just had a woman I love walk away from me because of my outbreaks, not of violence, just of me literally running away because the up is to overwhelming and the down is too clingy. I fear the meds I will get and with no know cure, these unpredictable episodes are sure to rise sooner or later, Im only 42. The most painful feeling I can identify is how I hurt the ones I love. the next would be isolation, I can’t talk about it to my friends (if I had any) and counciling is basically un availiable. Seeing news of abuse is not a trigger for me that I am aware of, but it sure does extend my lows. Love myself????? What is love?

Leave a Reply

