Sandusky’s explanation sounds odd (who says this kind of stuff?)


Just saw an article where Sandusky explains his behavior. The crafting of his words sounds like laying a foundation for his lawyers to say he didn’t know any better or something. At one point he says: “In my mind there wasn’t inappropriate behavior.” This was in reference to the what the assistant saw in the showers. My alert went up over the usage of the phrase, “in my mind”. It’s like saying that maybe it was wrong but in his mind it wasn’t inappropriate. It’s not a flat out denial is it? I just find the wording curious.

Then there was this gem when he was asked if he was attracted to young boys. He says:

“I was sitting there like, ‘what in the world is this question?’ am I going to be, if I say, ‘no I’m not attracted to boys,’ that’s not the truth because I’m attracted to young people — boys, girls,” he said.

The article says he goes on to “clarify” that statement. His “clarification was ridiculous. Who says the above statement? What the hell does that even mean!? What person upon being asked such a question and being accused of the heinous crimes he’s accused of, would choose to answer that question like that? In those words?

I just had to write about it. I don’t know about you guys but I can’t talk to anyone about all of these cases. No one understands, and the people I know, even my husband, don’t want to talk about it because it makes them uncomfortable. Gee, must be rough to be uncomfortable…

About CimmarianInk

Abuse Survivor Diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder PTSD and Dissociative Identity Disorder (DID) also known as Multiple Personalities
This entry was posted in Child Molestation, Sexual Abuse and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Sandusky’s explanation sounds odd (who says this kind of stuff?)

  1. harmony60 says:

    Hi – I am Bi – Polar also – I have been following your blog for a while now – I am very thankful and grateful your here – You take care of yourself – Have a Good Sunday – Ty Xo

  2. Broken Girl says:

    The things that come out of his mouth are mind-boggling and infuriating. It seems like he is completely unapologetic about the whole thing. I think he honestly doesn’t believe that the things he did were wrong. Maybe that’s why he isn’t exactly denying the charges, but instead trying to rationalize what he’s done?

  3. Freasha1964 says:

    I think he might be trying to back peddle furiously to keep from going over the falls. However, there are falls every which way he could go at this point.

    There is just no way that he didn’t know it was wrong. To say he is attracted to both boys and girls is to dismiss the connotation of “attracted” and divert the question. My father was good at this method of squiggling out of things and taught me how to do it. Like if you want to tell someone on the phone that someone is “not here”, you point to a specific spot and say “he is not here”. I guess basically that is deception, and I feel I am wise to it. Literally telling the truth, but deceiving.

    I don’t get when people feel uncomfortable about things and avoid talking about them. The friends I have generally will go where ever with me. Comfort or not. I have spoken of these blogs many a time now. They are often floored, but I can’t recall a time they fled from the discussion.

    It seems the more he struggles, the tighter the noose will get. I hope you are not concerned that he will somehow get out of this. I do believe he will be doing time, and finally doing a (left handed) favor to innocent children everywhere by showing potential abusers that even the most powerful will be caught and punished.

    • CimmerianInk says:

      You’re right Freasha. I don’t see him getting out of this in any way. I just feel bad for the victims because they have to see this man on TV saying that they’re lying and trying to cover it up by claiming it was just horsing around or whatever. I can’t imagine how I’d feel if I saw my abuser on the news like that.

      Part of a news article I read said that he’s displaying classic predator behavior by trying got justify his actions and minimize the damage he did. They said that’s what people like him do.

      Whoa. I just felt like I was dissociating for a moment so I’m going to go but I’ll respond to the rest of the comments later.

      • Freasha1964 says:

        Yes, you are so right. That would add insult to injury for the victims to have to see him up there on TV denying he did anything wrong.

        I hope you caught yourself and didn’t dissociate. This is clearly causing you a great deal of distress. Be good to CI and take care of her, please!!

      • CimmerianInk says:

        I didn’t lose any time so that’s good. It felt more like it does before I switch which freaked me out because I haven’t done that in a long, long time.

        I’m good. Thanks. 🙂

  4. attached says:

    I can’t believe how many people don’t think about it or focus on Joe Paterno getting fired or who knew what in the administration and how they should be punished. I think it is avoidance of the victims and the damage done to them. I feel so sorry for those boys and men as well having to live with what he did to them and now having to listen to Sandusky justify, minimize, lie publicly about himself. I hate it.

  5. castorgirl says:

    Hi tb,

    I hope you’re taking care of yourself while you’re reading these news stories…

    On one hand, I wish Sandusky would shut up and go away – especially so that his victims don’t ever have to see, or hear him again. On the other hand, I hope he keeps on talking, because everything he says solidifies the prosecutors case. As you mentioned in a previous comment tb, Sandusky is talking like an abuser – minimising, diverting, justifying, and just not understanding that he’s done anything wrong. I imagine that he thought he could talk himself out of this, just like he’s talked himself out of every other situation in the past. I don’t really think he realises how bad he is looking. If this is how he is going to be on the stand… his victims are in for a good day in court, as the prosecutors are going to destroy him.

    I’m not sure if this will reach court though. It might, as Sandusky probably thinks that no one will ever convict him; but I’m not sure.

    Take care,
    CG

    • CimmerianInk says:

      You expressed those two opposite feelings very well CG. I feel the same way.

      I was happy to read yesterday that all 8 of the alleged victims are going to testify against him. According to the story that wasn’t always a sure thing. I’m really proud of them.

      As for it going all the way to court, I’m kind of two minds on this one too. Part of me doesn’t want Sandusky to cut a deal. I want him to be exposed and humiliated. But, the other part of me feels very badly for the victims and doesn’t want them to have to go through all of that pain in a trial. I don’t know. I guess we’ll have to see.

Leave a Reply

