Adding new diagnoses the list gets longer


I forgot to mention that last week my therapist diagnosed me as having agoraphobia with panic. Fab…Even though, how does one have agoraphobia without panic???

I hadn’t really realized it until she said it and I paid attention to my behavior that I really am scared to leave the house. I go out once a week to see her and I do all my errands that day so I don’t have to leave the house again.

Somehow, I didn’t see for myself that this behavior was a problem. Huh.

It was also funny to me that when I told her about freaking out at the eye doctor, she reminded me that I have PTSD. I swear, it was like hearing it for the first time. What’s up with that?

I think I’m going to see how many inane diagnoses I can get just for fun. How many neuroses with cool letters can I add? I think they should go after my name like a doctor:

CimmerianInk P.T.S.D.D.I.D etc…

 

About CimmarianInk

Abuse Survivor Diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder PTSD and Dissociative Identity Disorder (DID) also known as Multiple Personalities
This entry was posted in Child Abuse, Child Molestation, DID, Incest, Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, PTSD, Sexual Abuse, Therapy and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Adding new diagnoses the list gets longer

  1. Pandora says:

    I remember once writing on Facebook, under that section that asks what your favourite pastimes are, that my main hobby was “collecting psychiatric diagnoses” 😉

    Me…depression (aka angsty teenager syndrome). No, actually…major clinical depression. Oh, and anxiety. Social? General? Both? Agoraphobia. BPD. Bipolar II. Complex PTSD. All with psychotic and dissociative features. No, wait. Scratch BPD and bipolar II. We’re going for bipolar I with psychotic features…but let’s not entirely rule our schizoaffective disorder. GAH!

    I can see why I’ve received all those diagnoses at the times I have, and I’m not at all an anti-psychiatry proponent…but I think having all these names and acronyms and a certain lack of clarity about what specific disorder someone has proves that there’s a lot of overlap and fluidity in mentalism.

    Remember to note all those acronyms at the end of your CV (résumé there?). Next time you’re applying for a Jon, they’ll be really impressed with all your professional memberships! 😉

    Love and hugs

    Pan xxx

  2. Freasha1964 says:

    You can add “comedienne extraordinaire” and please get me a glass of water before I choke from laughing so hard! Oh, oh, “EMT”, I need the Heimlich.
    Just kidding there, I am just fine and breathing well.

    Who needs to go outside anyway??? It is so over rated.

  3. NextInLine says:

    Hi, I’m sorry I’ve been sort of lurking, but I think you are absolutely amazing in your honesty and candor. I’ve got my own demons (don’t we all?) but you are da bomb and I will follow your journey and hopefully learn to know you as it goes. And BTW I am one of those who cannot make fucking phone calls to save my life. Toooooo difficult. What the hell is that about?

  4. castorgirl says:

    I developed a healthy scepticism towards diagnoses when one of my assessing psychiatrists asked me what ones I wanted him to list on the report… was pure comedy gold 🙂

    There should be a card game “Diagnosis Snap”, or something…

    • CimmarianInk says:

      Wow, he asked you? Jeez… 🙂

      • castorgirl says:

        Yes, it was out of respect and being open about the report, that he asked… He was awesome! He knew that anything listed would have an impact on me, and my treatment; so he wanted to get my opinion. It was a really positive discussion which helped me to understand where he was coming from, and why he was suggesting different diagnoses… but, he also respected my opinion.

Leave a Reply

