I just want to say something to my readers and those who comment here


I just felt the need to put my foot down on a conversation being had between myself and someone who decided to comment on my previous post. If you read the exchange you’ll know what I’m talking about.

However I don’t want anyone to feel like they can’t speak their minds here. I was going to put the following passage into my last comment but I decided to post it instead so everyone could see it:

Regular readers of my blog know me and they know that I am always open to their points of view and their thoughts and suggestions even when they think or feel something different than I do. That’s because I know them and trust them, because we have always shown each other respect even when we disagree about something. I’ve always said that the blog is here, in part, for me to hear different points of view from people who can offer me another way to look at things or reasons for why I may be experiencing something or feeling something. However, they have a basis for their comments and the fact that we care about each other sincerely is always evident in the conversation.

I decided to post this statement so those of you here would know that the earlier exchange is not the norm. If you have anything you want to say, feel free to do so because I know the ย mutual respect will be there even if we disagree. I’ve had some great conversation with people who challenge my perceptions or point out a flaw in my reasoning. And those of you who have done so know who you are and that I always appreciate it.

So let the ideas and comments flow. The spice must flow. Oh wow, I totally quoted Dune ๐Ÿ˜‰

About CimmarianInk

Abuse Survivor Diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder PTSD and Dissociative Identity Disorder (DID) also known as Multiple Personalities
This entry was posted in dissociative identity disorder and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to I just want to say something to my readers and those who comment here

  1. Freasha1964 says:

    You stood up for yourself! I am so proud of you!!

    • CimmarianInk says:

      Actually Freasha, your supportive comment helped me to do that. ๐Ÿ˜€ My gut reaction from the start was to do what I just did, but I tried being patient and polite. When you spoke up I knew it wasn’t just me and I felt supported which meant more than I can say. Really, you have no idea how much I needed that comment. *flying tackle hugs you* ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • Freasha1964 says:

        Wow! That sounds like a GOOD hug! I like hugs, so I will take your flying tackle hug gladly.

        Yes, I felt something was off, too, from the beginning. I was tempted to step in but I wasn’t sure how to do it without the famous no-no: rescue. In the end, you took care of yourself -possibly with a nudge from me, but no more. Your gut reaction was certainly right on (imho), and now you have more corroboration that you can trust it and believe yourself.

        Suffice to say, methinks someone might benefit from reading up on the psychological phenomenon of “projection”; one of the many marvels the deep psyche is good at. But possibly he won’t know who I am suggesting this to.

      • CimmarianInk says:

        Ha! Oh Freasha, you made me laugh and thank you for that. You can speak up anytime you want to. I was kind of waiting to see if anyone else felt like I did and then I questioned myself about it. This was actually helpful though because as you said, I saw that my reaction was valid and I won’t let that happen in the future.

  2. Pandora says:

    I believe my assessment of your recent visitor can be found in some of the words I use most on Confessions. You know the ones I mean; I’ll not repeat them here out of respect for you and your gentle, calm patience and rationality.

    You acquitted yourself admirably, my lovely, and good on you for standing up for yourself. How someone can make such crass assumptions on the basis of one post, when he or she does not know you at all, is incredible. That you responded with such tolerance, and yet self-determination and strength, is also incredible – but in a much more flattering way ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Take care, and have some hugs *hugs*

    Pan โค xxx

    • CimmarianInk says:

      Thanks Pan! And may I say that your words are quite fitting. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      The comments were definitely out of line and not how we all treat each other. Patience is a virtue…up to a point, then I say screw it.

  3. castorgirl says:

    Mutual respect is the key… Appropriate questioning is a good thing, but there has to be respect there.

    Take care,
    CG

  4. Pingback: This Week in Mentalists – The Let’s Celebrate Madosphere Positivity Edition « This Week in Mentalists

  5. Ruby Tuesday says:

    I don’t know if I have every actually commented on your blog before (though I’ve read it), but I have to say that in going back and reading the exchange on the previous post, I experienced a first in all of my time blogging/reading other’s blogs/interacting.

    It was the very first time I had ever seen actual arguing from someone commenting. I have read tons of comments where the person came off wrong or presumed, but etiquette, sensitivity, and common sense all dictate that when the author of the post comes back and (very politely!) tries to correct you, you either accept that with an apology and a thank you, or you just let it go and don’t comment any more.

    You showed extreme grace and patience in dealing with the situation, and you should be commended for keeping your presence of mind in a potentially triggering situation. The comments in question may have been aimed at furthering understanding, but they were phrased in language that was both defensive and provoking, and I wanted to start banging my head against the wall by about the second one.

    Good on you for setting an example for all of us.

    • CimmarianInk says:

      Hi Ruby,

      I wanted to tell you how much your comment meant to me. You’re so right that in commenting on blogs things don’t always come out the way they were meant or someone puts their foot in their mouth, but as you said, there’s always etiquette and sensitivity and common sense on how to handle these things. That was definitely lacking here.

      I had to laugh when you mentioned wanting to bang your head against the wall because that mirrored my reaction as well. ๐Ÿ™‚ I really appreciate you saying something, it means a lot. I think validation is very helpful in situations like these. People with abusive backgrounds who were always being told that their perceptions were wrong sometimes tend to question themselves when they have a gut reaction to something. My gut reaction was to say “Who asked you?” but that wouldn’t have been very graceful would it? lol!

Leave a Reply

