Another Seroquel Side Effect To Be Aware Of


I just wanted to write a short post to let people know that they really need to be on their game when it comes to paying attention to Seroquel side effects.

For the last couple of years I’ve been having pain inside my neck/throat area. It was a throbbing and persistent pain that my doctor could press on and have me yelling. I went to an ear, nose and throat doctor who promptly blew me off and said that it could be carotidynia which is saying nothing. Finally I got a new physician (internal medicine) and I told her about the pain. She sent me for a scan of my neck and it was then that they found plaque in my carotid artery. This made no sense to me as I was actively watching my diet after my life insurance blood test showed high cholesterol (which also made no sense at the time).

Now, I don’t know if the pain in my neck is connected to the plaque because I’ve never heard of artery plaque causing pain, but without the pain I don’t know if we would have found out about the plaque. Which brings me to my warning about Seroquel.

I was told after I started taking it that Seroquel could cause high blood sugar and diabetes so I was always freaking out about that and making sure my blood sugar got tested regularly. I never had a problem with it so I thought I was doing well. After I found out about the high cholesterol I was told that this too was a side effect of Seroquel. Oh joy

I could deal with the number with diet but I have no idea what to do about the plaque without resorting to more drugs. The pain in my neck in still there but one thing at a time I guess.

So, my point is: if you’re taking Seroquel please be very aware of ALL the side effects and make sure that you get your blood tested regularly. Diabetes, high cholesterol…none of it’s good.

For me, I need Seroquel to function. It holds the hallucinations at bay and helps me to sleep. If my cholesterol gets worse or the plaque does, I’ll have to re-evaluate my stand on that. My doctor mentioned putting me on Crestor or something like it but we didn’t do that yet. Statins present their own set of challenges for me because I already have issues with high CK(creatine kinase)levels as it is and statins can raise that causing more muscle pain than I already have.

So, be careful and be your own advocate when it comes to monitoring your health.

About CimmarianInk

Abuse Survivor Diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder PTSD and Dissociative Identity Disorder (DID) also known as Multiple Personalities
This entry was posted in bipolar disorder, Medication, Psychiatric Drugs, Psychiatric medication and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Another Seroquel Side Effect To Be Aware Of

  1. bipolar type2 says:

    It is very important to read the information they give you with your medications. Doctors do not tell you much. Everyone has to be vigilant when taking any kind of meds. I was on medications for 5 years before I went and got blood work. I was never told to get my levels checked on anything. Low and behold, my liver was screwed, I had high cholesterol, low calcium, practically no Vitamin D in my body I mean the list goes on and on. Now, we can’t say for sure if my meds caused everything, because…. I NEVER GOT MY BLOOD WORK DONE! 😦

    I was put on thyroid medication and a statin for my cholesterol. Went off of everything all together last year. When we get back from vacation, I am going back to the doc to get blood work done to check and see where it is I stand now.

    So, I am so happy that you posted this, because not enough people know how much adverse side effects there are to this stuff. And it can be bad, especially if this stuff runs in your family to begin with.

    *side note, no one has ever been able to tell me what is wrong with my liver. So I am praying that my levels were so high because of the meds, and that my levels are back to normal now that I am off meds.

    • CimmarianInk says:

      Hi bipolar type2,

      I so hear you on this! We think that our doctors are going to take care of getting tests done etc. but we can’t count on them. Sometimes the damage has already been done by the time a person finds out. My sister-in-law had major liver issues after taking a particular psych med (I want to say it was an anti-depressant). That’s always scary and I really, really hope that your liver has rebounded.

      And yea, family history also plays a role for sure because then a person should be especially careful to get regular blood tests. High cholesterol runs in my family which is why I’ve been so careful not to repeat the mistakes of past relatives. That’s why it was such an unexpected blow to have high cholesterol and then plaque because I’d tried so hard to watch what I ate. My psychiatrist is very sure that it wasn’t my diet but the Seroquel that caused it. So sometimes what you do can’t fight against the meds.

      Good luck, let me know what happens.

  2. Angel O'Fire says:

    as with everything there are always side effects, yes granted some side effects are worse than others, however in saying this, there are people out there (myself not being one of these) who will do everything and anything to try to maintain a healthy balanced diet, take vitamins and do their daily exercise, yet find that the side effects from medication have still affected them in a similar manner to if they had not of been so hyper vigilant of the side effects and the methods recommended to reduce side effects. For myself I have been a walking chemical since I can remember, after 4 babies my body sucombe to gall stones resulting in the removal of my gall bladder, and part of my liver which incidentally is the only organ that replenishes itself, however if I had not had children I wonder would I have still ended up with a gall bladder problem due to medication, alongside the damage that long term medication has on your teeth etc. At the end of the day, whatever treatments we go for or choose has some form of side effect.
    Yes defiantly have an understanding of the medication your taking, what it does, what it is used to treat both on and off label, however focusing on the side effects, well in my mind is a waste of worry,

    • CimmarianInk says:

      That’s too bad about your gall bladder and your liver. Sorry to hear that. 😦

      While obsessing about side effects isn’t helpful, being educated and aware of what’s happening to your health because of meds can possibly prevent serious damage and minimize future health problems that maybe could have been avoided. We all have to decide what we’re willing to live with and what’s not worth it. Sometimes the meds are more important, sometimes the side effects are. Since there are new meds coming out all the time a person having troubling side effects may be able to switch to something that accomplishes what they need without the backlash.

  3. dankline2000 says:

    Well now this leaves me in a bit of a pickle then doesnt it, i have just started taking Seroquel and already have high cholesterol and have a family history of Diabetes, but i was on Zyprexa before and for quite awhile, and well it has the same side effects as the Seroquel, so it is damned if i do and damned if i dont, i will continue to take the Seroquel and remind my Doctors about blood test casue they do forget not on purpose but it is the nature they are human too and we need to take some responsibility for our own treatment even if it is reminding them about blood tests.

    • CimmarianInk says:

      *wince* Ummm, that was bad timing for me huh? 🙂

      You know, I still take it and I’ve taken it for years because it works and other meds haven’t been able to help me like Seroquel can. It’s a fact. If I can combat the cholesterol with diet and maybe some supplements, then I will. Like you said, we have to take responsibility for tests etc. I hope it works for you.

  4. cffarmercarl says:

    Thank you. I just started last November and so far so good. I wasn’t aware of any side effects except sleep more than usual.

  5. meredith says:

    I was very surprised to find out that I border close to the line of high cholesterol. I’ve always had low cholesterol, have no family history of problems, and I eat whole foods… so it didn’t make sense to me. Now, I understand. Now, I’m furious.

    You know, this is exactly why I don’t like taking drugs. This is specifically why I practice yoga–to keep my anatomy as healthy as possible. I take the lowest dosage once a day (unless I slide into uncontrollable flashbacks) to so that my mind sleeps… but it doesn’t work, anymore, because my mind isn’t wired the same way, anymore. Medication isn’t intended to be a long-term solution, yet that’s exactly what the drug companies and medical community have done–made drugs a long-term solution.

    What a bust. I hate being an expendable, uninformed test subject.

    • CimmarianInk says:

      I hear you. The side effects can just as bad as the symptoms some times. Some effects aren’t too bad but when it jacks with your health, that’s another matter.

  6. Karen says:

    By bizarre coincidence, despite having been on Seoquel for over two years, I first experienced this symptom two days before you posted this!

    Seroquel has definitely saved my life, and I’ll never stop thinking that it’s a highly effective drug. But it has a very dark side, and psychiatrists need to make patients aware of that.

    (((((CI)))))

    Karen ❤ xox

  7. castorgirl says:

    Hi CI,

    I’m sorry about the side effects, and the lack of awareness you encountered about the possibility of them… That’s really bad.

    Any intervention can have a side effect, not just medication. That’s why it’s so important to ask about any sort of therapy, medication, or activity before you start it. Sometimes the idea of “informed consent” is a bit lacking with some professionals… I think some don’t want to cause unnecessary worry, and others just aren’t aware of all of the side effects.

    Each side effect needs to be considered within the bigger picture of our lives… do the negatives outweigh the positives? Sometimes it’s an easy answer, but sometimes it isn’t. Only we can make that decision within the context of our own lives.

    Take care,
    CG

  8. Sandra says:

    Has anyone had a stroke while taking serequel?

    • CimmarianInk says:

      Hi Sandra,

      I’m not sure. I’m not personally aware of any but if I were you I’d Google it and see what comes up. With meds anything can happen even if they don’t think it will.

Leave a Reply

