Ow My Face! Aka: Time To Add A New “…algia”


Well peeps, as I recently told a friend, if I don’t get a new medical diagnosis each year then things aren’t normal.

So for this year of 2013 I would like to add: Trigeminal Neuralgia.

A few months ago I was out all  morning in the cold wintry air. It was very windy and cold. No biggie. I got home and took a bath and felt possibly the worse pain I had ever felt, centered in my face. I was really glad that my husband wasn’t home because I was making all kinds of pain noises as what felt like lightning struck my face for what felt like forever.

After it passed I recalled that I had felt a similar pain once before probably within the previous month or so. It had been extremely painful but had lasted only a few seconds whereas this one was much, much longer.

I saw my neurologist about my migraines and I mentioned this pain before I left. She told me that it sounded like Trigeminal Neuralgia. They did an MRI last week because I’ve also been having numbness and twitching in my face. The MRI was stable meaning no changes from the last one ( I have one every year because of the migraines and a cyst I  have on a gland in my brain). That was good but it can also be annoying to constantly have health problems that don’t show up on tests. Don’t get me wrong, I would never want a serious illness. It’s just frustrating to have symptoms that a doctor can’t label and then they say, “Well everything looks fine. Call us if you get worse. Bye!” You know?

Anywho…I have now been prescribed Neurontin and we’ll see if that helps the pain which is now a daily, all-day thing.

So, I figured I’d share because you never know who else may be having similar problems.

P.S. I will also be writing an article for The World of Mentalist, so I need to get on that. 🙂

About CimmarianInk

Abuse Survivor Diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder PTSD and Dissociative Identity Disorder (DID) also known as Multiple Personalities
This entry was posted in dissociative identity disorder and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Ow My Face! Aka: Time To Add A New “…algia”

  1. Natalya says:

    Ouch! Sorry to hear about your new ‘algia’ 😦 Sounds painful.

  2. Freasha1964 says:

    I was just reading about that, and different kinds of pain, and a gene they found for a protein that has a lot to do with whether you feel no pain at all, or too much pain depending on which mutations it has. It was in Science News, last year (I am a year behind in my reading- have a stack of them). They said that this was indeed, horribly painful. I am sorry you have this. Good news is that they are close enough to understanding that they are developing some drugs for some of these diagnoses that are specific. I don’t want to get up and find the reference, and I don’t want to give out bad info, so I better quit. I hope the Neurontin helps. I take it for a peripheral neuropathy, but the amitryptiline in small doses helps the most for that.

    You sure do have your share of diagnoses, don’t you? Or more truly, you are hogging them all. But I know this isn’t funny. I just wonder if there is a common thread that is tying all these together. All happening in the brain, you know.

    I do hope the Neurontin helps. Luckily, they now have the generic version so it is not very expensive.

    • CimmarianInk says:

      Hi Freasha!

      I find the science of the brain very interesting. I actually do think many illnesses are connected but science hasn’t figured out how the brain works enough to understand everything.

      Since I also have Fibromyalgia which has meant constant pain, I absolutely think there could be something going on making me feel pain more intensely or when I shouldn’t.

      I didn’t know you had peripheral neuropathy! I’ve heard the term but I’m not familiar with the specifics. I’ll go look it up but I’m glad you’ve found something that helps. 🙂

      I just started the Neuron tin today so we’ll see how it goes.

      Feel free to share anymore thoughts you have. Thanks Freasha!

Leave a Reply

