Stephen Collins 20/20 Interview, My Thoughts


*My bluntness may be triggering, so here’s the warning*

 

I recorded the 20/20 Stephen Collins interview so I could watch it when I was alone. I was prepared to be triggered, in fact I usually welcome it because if I get triggered it means more information for my dissociative memory.

I wasn’t really triggered, at least not to the extent I thought I would be. Maybe it’s because that interview was so full of BS that triggering didn’t even get through. Rosie O’Donnell just wrote about it I wanted to say ‘amen’ after I read her words.

My first issue came when I saw the words “sexual misconduct” being used. Sexual misconduct? Really? Being a pedophile is way more than sexual misconduct. And there’s another issue. Stephen Collins says that he is not a pedophile; he says he doesn’t fit the definition of a pedophile. Let’s see: you admit to exposing yourself to three different girls, the youngest of whom was 10 YEARS OLD. While sitting on the couch with one of the girls, you took her hand and put it on your penis. And yeah I’m gonna use the word instead of saying you ‘moved her hand in such a way that she was touching you’ blah blah blah, the way you said it. Let’s just make it clear: you put a child’s hand on your penis. Then you both sat there unmoving and you put her hand back and walked out. That sir is called being a pedophile! Yeah, you’re a pedophile. He said that he’s not sexually attracted to children…ummm then why did you put a little girl’s hand on your penis? Why did you pull it out and show it to three different children? I’m gonna say it again: pedophile!

I noticed something else that was also pointed out by other viewers. During this sham of an interview Stephen Collins referred to the victims as “women”. It was as if he was distancing himself from the reality of what he did by using that word. They weren’t women when you sexually abused them (and he can read the definition sexual abuse from the cdc here), they were children. That makes him a freaking pedophile and he needs to own up to that publicly.

The whole interview felt like excuse and dancing around the real issues. His apology was empty and he showed absolutely no awareness of the damage he inflicted on these children, these little girls. We don’t know how they feel, but we know that what he did impacted them, even if they aren’t aware of it yet. How many years did I spend feeling “weird” feelings and acting “weird” without understanding why?

Before the interview I read an article where he was quoted as saying that he hadn’t pursued apologizing to the other women because he was counseled that it could cause them pain. BS! It sounds like he doesn’t want to confront them to protect his own neck. He has no idea how a real apology could affect them; or just his being upfront or honest about sexually abusing them. How many victims (and yes they are victims) would give anything to have their abusers at least own up to what they did, whether it was in writing or in person or whatever.

And I’m with Rosie O’Donnell on her view about Katie Couric’s performance during this farce. Katie should have pushed him and hit him hard with questions and real data about the damage sexual abuse does and she just softballed everything. Stephen Collins acted like what he did was of a lesser severity than other offenders and he’s wrong. It only takes one act to change a child’s like forever and that act doesn’t have to be rape. It can be a touch, a photograph being taken, exposing oneself to a child, walking in on them when they’re going to bathroom or showering. There are many ways to sexually abuse a child. Stephen Collins is a pedophile and his interview only showed a man who made excuses and dishonored the innocence he took from three little girls.

About CimmarianInk

Abuse Survivor Diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder PTSD and Dissociative Identity Disorder (DID) also known as Multiple Personalities
This entry was posted in Child Molestation, Sexual Abuse and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Stephen Collins 20/20 Interview, My Thoughts

  1. I could only read through the first part. But yes! The only thing that i felt positive about (until i read this) is that he at leasted admitted to doing something…unlike Bill Cosby.

Leave a Reply

