What Gives?


This is a quick post so that I can ask a question. It’s not really a question anyone can answer, at least not one that any of you can answer but I’m going to ask it because it bugs me.

My father’s wife’s daughter reached out to me through social media to give her condolences about my mother. I asked how she found out and she said that they had been visiting my family and my aunt told them. I assume that means my father knows as it was his sister who told them and she said “they” like I would know who that was.

My mother is dead and my father has said nothing. He has not reached out or called or sent a card or anything. What gives? I mean we’re estranged but geez!

He and my mom never married, they were never even engaged but you find out your child’s mother has suddenly died and you say nothing? Really?

Wow. It’s like I have no parents in the world at all.

About CimmarianInk

Abuse Survivor Diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder PTSD and Dissociative Identity Disorder (DID) also known as Multiple Personalities
This entry was posted in dissociative identity disorder. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to What Gives?

  1. Freasha1964 says:

    CI, my father had a daughter (before he met my mother) and I doubt he contacted her when her mother died. I don’t know if he knew. I found it utterly inexplicable that he lost touch with her, because he was pretty engaged as a father of us 3. Someone suggested that the mother may have said unfavorable things about him, and purposely kept the child away from him, and made it untenable for him. That doesn’t exactly explain your situation. I am sorry – it sounds like it is painful for you, and that is understandable.

    • CimmarianInk says:

      Hi Freasha, it is inexplicable. My father was around for visits for the first 5 years or so and the was extremely absent. Maybe it’s because we haven’t spoken in years but I just thought my mother’s death would be something he’d at least acknowledge. I know you are aware of how complicated parental relationships are from your own experiences and thank you for sharing how your father was.

  2. I’m sorry to hear that your father has shown such weakness of character here. 😦
    You deserve better! xx

  3. Karen says:

    That’s very, very low. I’m so sorry, CI – I wish I had something more useful to say. Sending love and hugs xxxxx

  4. secretangel says:

    So sorry for your loss… on both accounts. God bless you!

Leave a Reply

