Why I Love Sia’s “Elastic Heart” Video


I’m going to start with a trigger warning because I will link the video’s url in this post and I want people to read my thoughts on it first before they decide whether to view it or not.

If you read any news about Sia’s video for her beautiful song Elastic Heart, then you already know that she apologized for triggering people, which wasn’t her intent obviously. Her idea for the video is one reason I absolutely love it; she said it shows two “Sia states” and as a person with Dissociative Identity Disorder, I really get having different states of being and parts that can be at odds or be different ages or even genders.

Let me say that I absolutely get why some people could be triggered by the video; Shia Labeouf and Maddie Zeigler (she’s a child and a professional dancer) play two states of being, representing the singer and he picks her up or lays down next to her, while she periodically gets angry with him and throws him around. It’s a physical video. That being said, for me, and I emphasize the me part, this video is true and lovely and the end breaks my heart.

If you think it will trigger you, don’t watch it. If you wish to view it, here’s the link Sia’s “Elastic Heart” video

Even if you don’t watch the video, I think the song is great, but I’m a Sia fan now so I’m biased. Take care everyone.

About CimmarianInk

Abuse Survivor Diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder PTSD and Dissociative Identity Disorder (DID) also known as Multiple Personalities
This entry was posted in Alters, DID, dissociative identity disorder and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Why I Love Sia’s “Elastic Heart” Video

  1. Andi says:

    Omg, yes! I LOVE Sia and I really loved this video. I actually wrote a post about this as well, if you’re interested:

    https://fumblingthroughtherapy.wordpress.com/2015/03/20/elastic-heart-and-childhood-sexual-abuse/

    • CimmarianInk says:

      Hi Andi, I read your blog post and I really liked seeing another survivor’s perspective on the video. It’s really neat how we can all find different truths in one video and they’re all valid because it’s about us as individuals. Because I was looking at the video through DID eyes, I didn’t think of the interaction of abuser and abused so I thought your insights were very good as well. So glad you liked the video too!

  2. Copper Lebrun says:

    Hi

    That’s right Sia’s father was afflicted with DPD (Dissociative Personnality Disorder) and according to me she could well suffer from a light form of that impairment (resulting from possible childhood trauma ?). I have watched many interviews of her and she looks very different in each one. That would explain much of her “quirkiness” as well (bizarre outfits ; encouragements for children to “express their weirdness” too). She has bipolarity and suffers from phobias in social environment as well.

    By the way, I am a Sia “fan”. I collect information about her. (I have Asperger syndrome)

Leave a Reply

