Lady Gaga Suffers From Chronic Pain 10 Years After Her Sexual Assault


http://www.eonline.com/news/746074/lady-gaga-suffers-from-chronic-pain-10-years-after-her-sexual-assault

I wanted to take a moment to post this although it, won’t get the full attention it deserves because I’m still a mess.

I didn’t watch the Oscars because I just didn’t care (hey I knew Star Wars wasn’t winning so whatever lol). But I wish I had seen Lady Gaga perform this song with the survivors of sexual assault. Of course as I think about it I could pull it up online but, I hesitate. Hmmm…maybe I’m not ready. Well I really glad that she did it because they honestly have nothing to be ashamed of.

The article I’m linking to mentions how Lady Gaga felt accepted for the first time and there’s this picture of all of them together and I just thought it was really powerful to see them like that knowing what they had been through.

I don’t know that it will spur social change but maybe individually it did something for them.

About CimmarianInk

Abuse Survivor Diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder PTSD and Dissociative Identity Disorder (DID) also known as Multiple Personalities
This entry was posted in dissociative identity disorder. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Lady Gaga Suffers From Chronic Pain 10 Years After Her Sexual Assault

  1. Freasha1964 says:

    Speaking of the Oscars (which I didn’t watch either), I wonder if you saw or heard of “Room”? I don’t know if it would be full of triggers for you. I thought it was very well done and left me and my friend thinking about all these issues long after the movie ended. It seemed it could be empowering for some in that she got away from her abuser/captor. It also went far out of its way to not leave it at “happy ever after”, and explored what life was like after this horrid experience. I heard it won some awards but I never found out which ones (yet).
    I am glad you are feeling better enough to do some posts.

    • CimmarianInk says:

      Hi, yes I did hear of the Room. I actually read a full plot synopsis because of the subject matter and it sounded very interesting. I wasn’t sure how the hmmm…relations? between her and the captor were handled visually? But it sounded like it was a really thoughtfully done movie.

      • Freasha1964 says:

        The visuals regarding her and her captor’s relations were actually fairly subdued and I think meant to be taken from the child’s innocent point of view. Shadows and a creaking bed, and really only long enough to let the audience know that this was possibly the main motivation of the captor. Possibly this was more than once, I forget; it wasn’t gratuitous and definitely not the point of this movie. Well, on the other hand, I need to be careful here. There could have been more, but not have been something I would have remembered that much because it fit in with the message/plot- and I usually do get annoyed and remember it when it is there just for the sake of selling tickets. How’s that for an ambiguous account? The captor was barely ever shown; the movie was about her and her child and their small world they called “Room”.

Leave a Reply

