PTSD Drug For Nightmares


Hello everyone. I wanted to do a quick post about a new medication my therapist prescribed to help me with what I’ve always called “bad dreams”.

For quite some time now I’ve been waking up really tired because my dreams are so exhausting. Constantly running away from danger for hours and hours , trying to escape being beaten, fighting off rapists and other unpleasant subject matters have haunted my dreams. Of course I’ve had bad dreams since young childhood but this was really affecting my ability to get up in the morning.

My therapist had been offering to help me with nightmares for a while and I always said no 1) because I thought that I might get memories of my abuse through my dreams and I didn’t want to prevent that from happening and 2) I didn’t consider most of these dreams to be nightmares, as I said, I called them “bad dreams” and I assumed that everyone had these all the time. But per my usual experience in therapy, sometimes you find out your normal is not normal.

I finally got tired of being tired and agreed to try to medication: Prazosin. It’s for high blood pressure but she told me they’ve been giving it to soldiers to treat PTSD nightmares.

I was very skeptical but I tried it, taking it right as I thought I was falling asleep. Oh boy did it make a difference! Apparently 95% of my dreams aren’t just “bad dreams” they’re nightmares. My therapist said I’ve adapted to having them my whole life which is why I didn’t realize what they were.

I would say that the medication has worked about 80-85% of the time. It was higher at first but then after 2 weeks some bad drea…no…nightmares pushed through for a few nights. I still had a bad one where I was being killed over and over again between a mattress and a box spring by a man…yeah that wasn’t good, I still remember it.

But, I’ve had a more restful sleep since I started it. Now I’m afraid that I will be dependent on it though. My therapist said not to worry about it, she has a patient who’s been on it for a year or more I believe.

I know many of you have been through some awful things and I figured I’d share that maybe something might be out there that could help with nightmares. I don’t know how long this will work for me. Maybe it will stop, maybe it won’t. Maybe it’s a placebo and I just think it works and suddenly my brain will figure it out and weeks of pent up nightmares will tumble out. I’m always like that when something works. But hey, if you think it can help any of you, talk to your doctors or therapists, get their thoughts, not just mine. Remember it treats high blood pressure so if you have problems with low blood pressure already, you need to consider that. My therapist told me to get up slowly if I wake up to go to the bathroom for example.

Alright, that’s all for now, take care all of you

About CimmarianInk

Abuse Survivor Diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder PTSD and Dissociative Identity Disorder (DID) also known as Multiple Personalities
This entry was posted in Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, PTSD, Trauma and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to PTSD Drug For Nightmares

  1. I began prazosin 6 weeks ago. I had no expectations because I thought my nightmares would always plague me. It has been amazing. The first two days, nightmares, then just like that no nightmares. I have had a couple of disturbing dreams here and there, but no waking up screaming nightmares in 5 1/2 weeks. I hope that my brain is rewiring and I will be able to wean off of it someday, but for now sleep has actually been my friend. 🙂 Alexis

    • CimmarianInk says:

      Hi Alexis, that is amazing! I’m so happy to hear that someone else is getting help with nightmares. I’m with you on not wanting to take this forever, but it’s nice to get a break for a while isn’t it? 🙂

      • I can’t even begin to explain how wonderful the break is…but you get that! NOW if they just made a pill to get rid of flashbacks, I would be the first in line with both hand out. 🙂

      • CimmarianInk says:

        Haha, I’m still in the “I need more information/memories” camp. I read once that people who remember wish they didn’t and people who don’t remember wish they did and then when they do they become like the first group. I still want to remember more so I kind of welcome flashbacks but mine are so brief and don’t give much information that they’re not really scary yet. However I understand bad they can be for others so, you never know, if they can tackle nightmares, maybe they can help flashbacks someday too!

      • Best of luck on our healing journeys. I’m about to head to your blog and hit follow. Then we can travel this wild path together.

      • CimmarianInk says:

        It is wild indeed. I checked out your post on being a victim/survivor, reminded me of something I’ve been wanting to write about if life would stop throwing me other topics so quickly lol.

Leave a Reply

